Wednesday Night Routine


Wednesday nights used to be my favorite night of the week.  It’s dart night for me and I do love to play darts.

Unfortunately, the last 9 months or so, darts has become less enjoyable.  I hurt afterwards.  Muscles I don’t even use to play darts hurt.  I run out of steam during my matches and by the time we get to the last round, sometimes sooner, all I can think about is getting home and putting heat on my legs.

The heat helps.  My new routine after darts is to come home, turn on the heating pad and put it on the underside of my legs, turn on the heated blanket and curl it around the front of my legs, and just wait for the ache to subside.

My hands hurt, both of them.  I only use one to throw darts.  Both arms get sore.  I know I throw a heavy dart at 25 grams, but that shouldn’t be enough to make my non-throwing arm sore.  Both legs feel like they have been crushed in a vice, even the bones ache.  Heat is the only thing that even remotely makes them feel better.

And I get no work done.  I used to come home from darts energized and ready to go.  My mind able to focus on whatever piece I’m writing, having been reset by getting out and doing something.  Now, I come home and just at the document, too tired to even read what I have written the day before.

Today is recovery day.  My legs still hurt.  I know it has to be muscle pain, but it feels like bone pain, which is absolutely insane.  Also, I stand with all my weight on my right leg, so what the hell has my left one been doing to have just as much pain as the right one?!  Sadly, today is also the day I will know that I have a touch of arthritis in my hips.  I’ll feel it every time I move.

By the end of Wednesday night, after just two, maybe two and half, hours of throwing, I feel like I’ve been run over by a dump truck going full speed.  It used to not be this way. I was ladies’ MVP just 3 seasons ago.  Now I’m doing good to get a measly 25% of my games.  And it was never something that caused physical pain to the point that I wanted to cry.  I never got so tired during or even after darts that my body and mind just shut down.

Something has seriously changed in the last 9 months or so.  Something that needs to be fixed so I can get out and enjoy life again.

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Night Routine

    1. Nope, it isn’t even close to being borderline one way or the other. We are essentially down to fibromyalgia or cancer. My mother has fibro and I do have Sjogren’s (an autoimmune disorder), but we can’t get “proof” of it from labs and things. So, we are working to rule out cancer to make the fibro diagnosis.

      Like

Leave a comment