Commercials Gone Awry


I have noticed a disturbing new trend in commercials.  It would seem like everyone in charge of quality control has the IQ of a shoe.

Commercial 1:

Some mobile company has a guy knocking around a green ball and the slogan is Period Power.  As a woman, every time I hear the slogan, I wonder if I need to go buy tampons.  And for the life of me, I cannot remember the name of the mobile company offering the rates.  Also, they play it a lot.  I know because I don’t watch a lot of TV, but I see it often.  I chalked this commercial up as a complete failure.  I don’t know what men think of it, but as a woman, it doesn’t entice me to switch my mobile service.

Commercial 2:

Esurance and their 7 1/2 minute quote.  Insurance for your house, auto, apartment, etc are all really important decisions.  They are touting the speed of their service to save you time.  I tested it.  It took me longer than 7 1/2 minutes and my quote was ridiculous.  As it is, when I did buy my insurance a few years ago, I spent a whole hell of a lot more time than even 15 minutes.  Eventually, I got a quote that wasn’t robbing me blind and had good coverage.  Stop trying to save me time and start offering quality over quantity.  If I spent more than 7 1/2 minutes, I probably would have gotten better offers… but since I was testing for quantity not quality…

Commercial 3:

One cup coffee commercial, I missed the brand, it’s unimportant.  I have nothing against one cup coffee makers.  My mother is the only coffee drinker in my house, so I get it.  And they offer a huge variety.  However, tonight I saw one with this comparison:  place or scoop: placing takes less effort.  They actually said that!  Now, I get that Americans are considered terribly lazy and that we try to expend as little energy as possible, but marketing to that specific fault seems like a bad idea.

 

One thought on “Commercials Gone Awry

  1. I know i’ve seen the esurrance commercial….I don’t think I’ve seen the others or if I have they didn’t leave an impression…which of course means it’s a failure for their money….lol

    Like

Leave a comment