Still Going On About It


Recently, someone my husband and I know pointed out we’d been married almost six months and I wasn’t getting any younger, so we needed to hurry up with the baby making. When I expressed my horror at the idea, they told me it would be different if it was my own.

No, it probably wouldn’t.  I can deal with Lola’s vomit, but I don’t clean up her poop and if Jude poops, I try to sneak out of the room before the diaper gets changed.  And it’s not just bodily functions… I was sitting at the chiropractor’s office today when a family came out (mom, dad, 2 young girls) and one of the girls was whining about having to walk the 15 steps out to the car in the heat.  So her mother was trying to get her to hop or skip…

In the minute it took them to leave, I felt myself getting irritated with both the mother and the little girl.  I don’t know what the solution was, but the little girl’s excessively whiny voice was like dagger’s to my central nervous system.  My eye started to twitch, I had to fight a sneer and I think I failed, and yeah.  I don’t actually like children all that much.

I love Jude, but when he is fussy, I want nothing more than to leave.  Why risk having my own children and it not being different?  I would make a terrible parent.  I’m good for like an hour at a time, as long as they aren’t whining, fussing, or being irritating.

Thankfully, my husband chimed up that he didn’t want children either.  Discussion closed.  It reminded me that when a man says he doesn’t want children, no one thinks anything about it, but when a woman does, it’s a huge problem for everyone.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Kimberly Graham

     /  July 11, 2017

    I have this same issue with my 77 year old mother and her 70 year old sister. I have less than zero patience or tolerance for kids and I’m well aware that motherhood is not for me…I’m 37. It was so bad from my aunt’s drama that she felt it was ok to belittle me “as a failed” woman in front of my entire family at my father’s funeral…(her words).

    She makes it a point to tell me about her “great grandson” and how it’s wrong my mother has to get her “baby fix” through him. When I should have one for her to play with and spoil. The fact that bothers me and seems to go unoticed by her is that her great grandson was given to her by her “still in high school “grandaughter” who still lives at home. But I guess I’m the A**hole.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Maria D.

     /  July 11, 2017

    People need to mind their own business – if you want a kid – you will have one – lol…fortunately I’ve gotten old enough that people stop asking me why no kid – simply didn’t want one – I do okay with babies and teenagers but the period in between??? no thanks….don’t let others get to you:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Joan

     /  July 12, 2017

    I have one, he’s 31 now and we barely survived the experience. I love him dearly but I’m better with my dogs. I think my husband would agree.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

