Internet Breeds Familiarity


I know a writer who currently set up a GoFundMe set up to pay for a vacation.  I find this weird since they shared it on their Facebook Author page.  I found it even weirder when I told them I couldn’t donate because I was in spending jail until after we close on the house and they told me to go set up a GoFundMe for it.  Um, no.  I ask my readers to buy my books, I am not going to put out my hand and beg for donations to give me spending money.

As appalled as I am by this particular author’s audacity, I sorta get where they are coming from.  The internet breeds familiarity with readers that authors have never had before.  There are several readers that I exchange messages with fairly often and I feel I know them.

I have had readers contact me with some pretty strange requests as well.  For example, one reader asked me if I would be willing to donate my eggs to them because they didn’t want to see my genes go to waste.  I politely declined.  I’ve also been asked for locks of my hair, my used Jamberry wraps, and been proposed to.  Furthermore, readers send me links to GoFundMe pages for different things.  I’ve also been asked to do blog posts to bring awareness to certain things or to use my author page as a platform for a cause.

I did get one very creative charity request; they wanted me to donate $5 for each fictional character killed in the D&R series.  This was after the release of Fortified Dreams and their figure was 117 people had been killed throughout the 11 books.  I don’t know if this is accurate, I don’t keep a running tab of the number of people I kill, but I did kill several in Fortified Dreams, so it’s possible.

Anyway, I digress.  There was a point to this post and I seem to have forgotten… Oh, yes, the thing about social messenger and the internet in general is that communication between readers and writers (and anyone else for that matter) has been reduced to just a click or two.  This makes it easy for strange requests to go back and forth between.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. sparky5805

     /  July 8, 2017

    Ok, I’m just floored someone would setup a gofundme account for a vacation. We all would like to take a nice vacation every year, but we skimp and save to get there. I’ve become very leary of gofundme requests, which is a shame, but I’ll only donate now to people I know personally and know that there is a legitimate need.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

