Vacation


Vacation was pretty good.  With the exception of the mice which were a huge problem for me.  It’s hard to spend 10 days in a camper with someone though.  There isn’t a lot of room and I don’t sleep well most of the time.  I have issues sleeping on my left side and in the camper, I almost always have to sleep on my left side.

I slept a lot of the way home because I was so tired.  I did play darts for the first time in seven years at the Chicken Coop open – the world’s largest outdoor dart tournament.  That was an interesting experience.  I sucked.  I was throwing my husband’s extra set of darts.

He won the big money draw and a first place trophy.  The first time he’s done either in the 17 years he’s been going.  The best I got was a 16 spot.  I had some great partners in it, but I threw terrible, so it would have been more surprising if we had done better.

No real float trip this year because it rained a ton and the float was miserable, cold, and wet.  I was wetter from the rain than I would have been if I had just jumped into the river.  To illustrate how bad it was, I wore a rain coat on a float trip to try to stay warm.  Then we had to stop at a little store along the shore to buy ponchos for everyone because the rain was giant cold droplets that felt like they were being propelled by a leaf blower straight onto us.

Thankfully, one of the nephew’s had decided to go fishing.  He brought his small boat along.  We hooked up to him and used his trolley motor to get us back faster than normal.  It’s usually an all day trip, but we did it in about 4 hours with the trolley motor.

Got to meet the girlfriend of a friend for the first time.  She was great.  I loved her.  I told my friend if he hurt her, I would probably kill him, slowly and painfully.

We bought a large metal chicken at the charity auction, because everything is chicken themed at the Chicken Coop Open.  We got to celebrate a friend’s birthday.

Overall, it was a de

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It sounds like you had a really great vacation – well except for the sleep issues. That’s great that you felt good enough to play darts…I think you will have to make sure to pack an emergency or backup set for you from now on 😂😂😂 The metal chicken sou d’s interesting..post a picture if you can 🤣🤣🤣

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

