A Eureka! Moment?


I’ve been dealing with a migraine all week and it has varied from tolerable to making me worship the porcelain god.  Any time I have one like this, I start going through my migraine journal and I may have had a eureka moment…

Let me start by saying, I was born with my hips out of socket, both of them.  They discovered it and put them back in when I was six weeks old.  This hasn’t been a huge thing in my life.  I have arthritis in both hip joints, but it’s not bad enough for me to really notice it unless something out of the ordinary happens and then it’s just a hitch in my step.

Two year ago, when I started having problems with pain in my legs and went through the whole what the hell is wrong with me ordeal, I still didn’t think much about my hips as a baby.  Even when it turned out to be an issue with my SI joints and the nerves that run through them, I just sort of chalked it up to one of those things.  The doctor told me that my SI joints were mildly deformed, probably the result of having been born with my hips out of socket and that this was stressing the nerves running into my lower legs.

We put in nerve-blockers in November.  They wore off in the middle of March.  Not as long as we would have liked for them to last, but not surprising either.  I was told I would probably have to build up to getting a year or so of pain management out of the injections.

Now, back to the possible eureka moment.  Since getting the nerve-blockers, my migraines have seriously decreased… Far more than they did with the Botox.  And the few I had were easily manageable with a medication called Butalbital/Acetaminophen.  Butalbital is a barbiturate, barbiturates depress the central nervous system, meaning the nerves and neurons that make up the central nervous system fire fewer signals.

Which got me wondering… Is it possible that the deformation of my SI Joints, which is the area where my pelvis meets my spine, is putting pressure not just on the nerves that run into my lower legs, but possibly nerves that run up my spine or my spine itself?  If so, is it then also possible that this is the source of the majority of my migraines?

Could nerve blockers in my lower back really be the best treatment for my migraines?  It’s nearly unthinkable!  It’s just so… mind-boggling.  The deformity is very minor, a tilt of the pelvis that pushes my SI joints into a slightly different position and made them narrower than what they should be… something so insignificant that it has never been mentioned on any of the numerous X-Rays, CT Scans, or MRIs that I’ve had done.  I mean, I’ve been told my pelvis is tilted as a result of my hips being out of socket, but lots of people have a tilted pelvis for no reason at all and don’t have migraines.

And if so, what does that mean for my triggers?  Perhaps the pressure on the nerves or spine that causes my migraines somehow make my central nervous system more sensitive to normal migraine triggers – light, smells, noise, these have always been my biggest three triggers.  Is it because my central nervous system is already in overload because my SI joints and pelvis are somehow irritating it?

It is something I will have to discuss with a doctor, possibly my pain management doctor as well as my primary care physician and when/if I get a new neurologist them too… Then maybe it’s time to see a rheumotologist about it.  I have arthritis in my SI Joints as well as my hips.  Again, it’s mild and doesn’t seem to bother me, but it could be another factor that would explain why my migraines have gotten so much worse as I have gotten older.

Wow… Just wow…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I don’t doubt that they are all connected somehow – hopefully your doctors will be able to work out a good treatment

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Daniele Cochran

     /  March 31, 2017

    It’s very possible. I have to pop my SI joints almost everyday and I suffer from what they described as “low-level migraines” (basically I had headaches everyday but they didn’t know why).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

