Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Well….I can honestly say that your success is because of hard work – you are not an imposter….have never heard of this syndrome before but it sounds like something a lot of people I know suffer from

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Lynda

     /  March 29, 2017

    I am a voracious reader and DNF more books than I finish. You are a gifted and talented storyteller who sucks me into your narrative and you don’t release me until the end of the tale, leaving me bereft that it ends. You are not an imposter. Your skill is impressive. Thank you for sharing it with me.

    I think most people think they are an imposter in at least one aspect of their lives. Self-doubt is natural and helps us to strive harder and improve. Only fools think they are the best, brightest, and most talented.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. sparky5805

     /  March 30, 2017

    First let me say I understand exactly how you and your BFF feel. I worked in computer Networking for over 20 years. I worked my ass off to get the positions I got. But my boss would joke with me that I got interviewed for international publications, videos made, and asked to speak at International conventions because I “was a woman in Networking”. He was joking, I knew it but… (There were even women in my department who worked in non-network related areas who accused me of sleeping my way up.) I earned everything I achieved, but sometimes I felt like such a fraud and questioned my abilities.

    Second, you are an awesome author, an artist really. I had never left a book unfinished until I convinced myself, not long ago, that I really didn’t have to read a book that didn’t grab me and suck me in. Your books NEVER fall into this category. I wait impatiently for each of your books, I catch myself wishing you could write faster. But at the same time know that if you did the books wouldn’t be the awesome books they are. YOU are one of my favorite authors and Leon Uris is my favorite author of all time, so you keep great company in my world.

    I hate that as women we feel this way. But I try to look at it as we’re blazing trails for my daughters’ generation. So they won’t know the feeling of being an imposter, so they will feel they have every right to be in the fields they choose. It’s hard, but it helps.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • It’s such a small world for women in networking and security, you probably know my BFF, who started out in networking and moved to security. And like you, she’s made videos, spoken at international conferences, and all sorts of stuff… SANS even asked her to be an instructor at one point. 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

