Yesterday’s Risk


I knew yesterday’s post was a risk.  I expected some backlash and I got some.  Although, the majority of the discussion started by it was civil.

However, yesterday proved exactly how polarizing this election was.  I saw friends unfriending each other on Facebook and other social media sites because the rhetoric became so vitriolic.  It would have been kinder if they had just walked up and stabbed each other.

For the record, I’m not a huge Hillary Clinton fan and I never said she was the better candidate.  I believe both candidates were a disaster in the making and if she had taken office, I’d be questioning her regime as well.

That’s a big part of what I like about being an American.  I can voice those types of opinions and everyone is free to agree or disagree.  I can also be weary of the legislation that my government is trying to pass.

I had a handful of people, maybe a little more, swear they would never buy another book from me again.  I get it.  I’m a writer, I’m supposed to entertain.  But I’m so much more than just a writer.  I’m a person.  I’m a woman.  I’m an American.  I’m a historian.

This blog is my forum for more than just what I’m writing today.  It’s my chance to start discussions, listen to opinions, and voice a few of my own.  I don’t expect everyone to agree with every opinion I give, that would actually be weird.  But I would hope they respect me enough to not decide I’m subhuman because my opinion differs from theirs.

Which is how I felt a few times yesterday.  As the emails and private messages rolled in telling me what a fucking idiot I was, I felt like people expected me to not be human, but rather a puppet to dance on their command and have no thoughts of my own.

The irony of that is not lost on me, considering writers have nothing but their own thoughts all the time.  It makes it very hard not to form opinions on things.  That history degree makes it even harder for me to be silent about it, because history has proven that if we don’t question things and voice our opinions, no matter the consequences, then we are doomed to suffer the wrath of tyrants.

 

And my opinion wasn’t that strong.  I merely expressed my concerns that President Trump’s rants often overshadow legislation being introduced into congress for voting and why some of those were just mind boggling.  I can’t imagine how many readers Stephen King has lost with his not so polite tweets aimed directly at President Trump.

I’m disheartened that some of my readers decided my political views were reason enough to stop reading my books.  Books they have proclaimed to love.  For me, that’s the equivalent of telling someone they can’t read my books because they have a different political outlook than I do. However, I admit that when I wrote the post, I knew it was going to happen.  The business person in me told me not to do it, but that seemed unfair to rest of me.

I won’t apologize for it.  I did nothing wrong.  It wasn’t a rage-fueled rant, it was a thought-out essay on what I see as major problems currently facing the US, created by our government.  It was meant to provoke thought and start discussions.  If a few of my readers want to hate me for it, there is nothing I can do about that.  I will be sad they are gone.  I’ve had great discussions with some of them.  I will also wonder how we have become so divided, that we can’t even agree to disagree anymore.

As Aislinn would say:   Exactly how far down this rabbit’s hole did we fall?

 

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Alicia

     /  March 23, 2017

    I thought it was well written and respectfully stated. I cannot imagine giving up a beloved writer of stories I anticipate so greatly over a difference of opinion.
    Thank you for having the courage to use your voice – despite the potential for backlash.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. sparky5805

     /  March 23, 2017

    You know I obviously appreciated yesterday’s post. Like you I was/am not a huge Hilary fan. Frankly, I didn’t care for either candidate. I did my duty and voted, because I think we should all exercise that privilege. And I think if you don’t vote you have no right to complain. As said yesterday, it resonated with me as as as a person with a degree in history. I’m sure the ones who sent nasty messages believe that freedom of speech guarantees their right to say whatever they desire and to spew whatever vitriol they want. I’m sorry you lost a few readers, but I doubt they understand them anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Lori

     /  March 23, 2017

    It seems to me that people have forgotten to we all have this little right called “freedom of speech”. I happened to agree with what you wrote yesterday, but had I not, I would have just chalked it up to,YOUR OPINION, and pulled up my big girl panties and went about my day. In my humble opinion, some people just need to grow the fuck up.
    I remain, as always, totally enamored with Aislinn and anxiously awaiting your next book!👏👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Donna

     /  March 23, 2017

    Hadena , i have to admit your post yesterday did upset me , I also was one of the idiots that had the first instinct to ” never buy or read one of your books again ” but i held off making a snap post or rant . Why? Well you are entitled to your opinion as an American as a human, just as i am . I have read and played you’re books several times and enjoyed them a lot, why would i deprive myself of the enjoyment of this i had to ask myself that is what stopped me, and just like a couple of my Aunts and uncles we will agree to disagree and i for one will avoid the subject. At least you voted !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Teresa V.

     /  March 23, 2017

    I didn’t agree with you but it seems to me only flamig liberals go apeshit over disagreeing.. aparently you found some different apes ;o} The point is that your free speach is cover verbally, or in print, as long as it’s not a terrist manafesto then honey i’d call the FBI on you cheeks.. both sets.. What has bugged the holy S^^^ out of me is that somehow we allowed and yes we did allow it, it wasn’t an opps just happened.. allowed Political Correctness to take the place of comon sense, decency, and just letting someome vent. We have politicians that are so botoxed you have to wonder how they lived !! and I am talking male and female..
    You write totally different from what I write, but I never attempted publishing I give away my writings.. I feel they are from the heart and to reach someone eses heart..
    In todays times we are having our salem witch trials modern version.. and we all know who divided us and for some they forget the words BIRACIAL and claim only one.. his slight of hand and misdirect cost our country a lot.. Soros shares blame.. but we can not allow our guard down again. This Democratic female that will fight for abortion rights also says wait.. only to the point of viability outside of the mother.. a parasitic life form verses a butterfly that can spread wings of beauty there is a line..
    As a Medic and Nurse I didnt give a rats rear your color unless it was RED AND WET GRAY AND LISTLESS OR BLUE AND GASPING..
    EMS and it’s branches are the first we scream for for help and then want to sue when the outcome isnt what you wanted..
    when they are too brain dead to understand PARTY doesn’t mean to the death, and we need to get rid of the lifers who can’t remember who is in office or state before anything happens I can’t swork with them.. wsell fine go home and we’ll send someone else that will at least listen..

    you don’t need forgiveness, absolution or anything of the sort th country just needs to stop being asses and pull up the big boy pants cause the pull ups stink.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Hadena,

    I didn’t respond to your initial post because once I saw the insanity seeping in I decided to step away.

    I am not saying I agree or disagree with what you posted but I will say I am so disappointed in people in general. People are allowed to have a difference of opinion it does not make them bad it is just different.

    I may or may not agree with what you say but instead of name calling and threatening to not read your books I would take the more inteeligent, and human way out and discuss, ask questions, debate or say “Ok, well thats her opinion” and go on with my day.

    It amazes me how many people go straight to name calling and being belligerent if someone’s opinion differs from theirs.

    I applaud you for voicing your opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

