My One Wedding Regret


As everyone is probably aware, I got married last Saturday.  Everything went well.  We had a ton of people at the reception.  It was wonderful.

We may have set a new record for fastest wedding ceremony in history.  We did it in under 6 minutes.  Considering we were a few minutes late getting started, that worked out.  We were done with all the wedding stuff, including pictures, by 4:30, so we got to head to the reception a little early.

There really were a lot of people there.  At one point, the bartenders counted around 220, give or take a few.  We are truly blessed to have so many friends and family that came out to celebrate with us.

However, we didn’t get space for a dance floor until after 9 pm.  As a result, by the time we could dance, darts had started and the Husband was playing in the blind draw.  This means, I did not get my dance.

I’m not normally a sentimentalist or romantically inclined, so I’m not sure why it bothers me so much that we didn’t get a husband and wife dance… But it does.

I didn’t realize how disappointed I was about it until last night.  I was writing and the song I had chosen for our dance came on my writing playlist.  I just sorta stopped writing.  I had picked out Don’t You Wanna Stay by Jason Aldean and Kelly Clarkson.  The Husband likes country and I like opera, so the song actually works well for both of our music interests.

Everything else was amazing and yet, I shed a tear or two because I didn’t get that dance.  In the grand scheme of things, it shouldn’t be that big of a deal… it was just a dance.  Looking back though, I didn’t dance at all that night because I didn’t get that first dance with my husband.  I was asked several times and I love to dance, but I just didn’t want to because I had missed that single dance.

All my ladies were beautiful in their dresses.  All the guys were dashing in their outfits.  My father dressed to the nines for the event and wore a suit, something I have only seen him in a few times over the course of my 36 years.  Even the Husband’s father was dressed to the nines and wore a suit; something I had never, ever seen.  The food was wonderful.  We were surrounded by friends and family, many we hadn’t seen in a long time.

And yet, I’m sad about a dance… Hard to believe.  I think for a while, I will be removing the song from my playlist.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. April Morrisett

     /  March 3, 2017

    Congratulations on your wedding! Maybe that special dance will be a memory to look forward to making in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. My $0.02.

    Don’t be blue, don’t let it fester. Find a way and time to have that romantic dance.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Congratulations on the Wedding and it going well. You can save the dance for your first anniversary and make it special then. Think of it as something to look forward to as a special anniversary memory you can make.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Donna

     /  March 7, 2017

    Eventually it will become marriage lore, like my father telling my husband at my wedding to change out of the tux so he didn’t ruin it , unfortunately my father hadn’t seen what my husband wore Before the tux . A 8 year old torn shirt with holes and camouflage pants with flip flops I was horrified, the pictures before we left for the honeymoon are hilarious with me in my gown and well you get the idea. Make him take you dancing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. sparky5805

     /  March 9, 2017

    Set out some candles, put your dress on, put your song on, turn out the lights, grab him, and dance. It may not be the first dance at your wedding, but it can be just as special, or more so. This time it’s just the 2 of you, no stiffness from everyone starring at you. Believe me Sean and I barely moved during our first dance at our wedding, I think we were too self-conscious about all the eyes on us. But when we dance alone, at home, it’s truly special and much more loving.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

