16 Hydrocodone & The Great Nephew’s Ears


Last week, Jude the Great Nephew was running a fever between 102 and 104 all day, which is why we kept him.  At one point, he flopped forward and broke a tooth.  I assure you, it hurt me more than him.

He was on antibiotics and baby Tylenol at the time.  We tried baby Motrin and that did not bring down his fever at all.  Since it normally works a little better and a little faster than Tylenol, I was surprised but hey, the kid’s gonna be an oddball like the rest of us.

We both had appointments on Wednesday; me for my tooth and him with an ENT.  It turns out his ears aren’t draining.  This isn’t the first time he’s run a high fever or even the first time he’s had an ear infection this year.  At 7 months old, the poor kid has been sick most of the winter.

The dentist pulled my front tooth and gave me 16 hydrocodone (Vicodin).  I have never gone through meds that fast before.  I was taking them 2 at a time every 4 hours just to make the pain manageable.  So, when I went to bed last night, I knew I was going to wake up without any pain meds.  Wow.  It doesn’t hurt quite as bad as it did Wednesday, but it’s still pretty close.  I don’t have dry socket, but it seems to have damaged the socket or perhaps my jawbone when it came out, because the teeth on either side hurt where it was pulled.  I cancelled all my weekend plans because I believe it’s going to take some time for this to heal and it is going to be very painful.

But because I’m a silver linings type of girl, Jude the Great Nephew was put on different antibiotics for his double ear infection and they put tubes in Thursday.  Hopefully, this will bring the little guy some relief.  I hate to see a baby sick and Jude is normally a very happy baby so that somehow makes it worse.  It’ll be nice to hear him giggling again.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,479 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

