Diet X Cured my Y OR not….


What you put in your body can be very helpful or detrimental to your health.  I have a friend who is getting relief from migraines doing Beach Body Shakeology.  Another has complete control of her Type 2 diabetes with her diet change.  These are all great!

However, when someone told me she had reversed her polycystic ovarian syndrome using a Paleo diet, I just stopped and scratched my head.

For the record, I have polycystic ovarian syndrome.  It has effects and side effects.

  • trouble maintaining a healthy weight
  • trouble maintaining healthy blood glucose levels
  • ovarian cysts
  • infertility
  • high levels of androgen
    • Excessive body hair including: mustaches, partial beards, full beards, nipple hair, extremely hairy legs and under arms, chest hair, back hair, butt hair, and dark, thick arm hair are all symptoms of this hormone imbalance
    • Female patterned baldness/Male patterned baldness
    • Severe adult acne that is not treatable with facial washes and scrubs
    • severe teen acne that is not treatable with facial washes and scrubs
  • low estrogen levels
    • You think regular PMS is bad?  Meet a woman with PCOS who also has PMS…
  • migraines
  • diabetes
  • high cholesterol
  • anxiety disorders
  • depression
  • very high sex drive
  • and a slew of other more minor symptoms that most of us don’t think about

She has a touch of a moustache, a little bit of chin hair, very dark and coarse leg hair, and nipple hair.  However, after just six months on Paleo, her excessive body hair is gone. Along with her infertility and ovarian cysts.

I could see where diet would affect weight, diabetes, high cholesterol, and migraines.  I don’t believe it’s curing her body hair problems, infertility, or ovarian cysts.  Primarily because diet doesn’t really impact androgen or estrogen production.  There is some anecdotal evidence that diet can reduce androgen, but the foods on the list are carbs and sugars… Which means all those males that eat breads and sweets should be brimming with androgen and all those that don’t, should have much lower levels of it – as low as females without PCOS – which would lead to infertility, a lack of body hair, and trouble maintaining a healthy weight (they would be underweight).

But I have yet to hear a doctor tell a guy, if you want a kid, you just need to eat more bread and candy bars, maybe a few sodas. I have also never had a doctor tell me that I would need to cut all carbs and sugars to get pregnant.

That androgen/estrogen imbalance is actually the kicker for women with PCOS.  It’s this imbalance that leads to body hair and fertility issues, which leads to depression and anxiety/panic disorder.  No one wants to be that woman in the locker room who is afraid to take off her bra because she has nipple hair.  Or be the one that gets caught shaving, waxing, plucking, or whatever other torture device we use to remove the faint or not so faint moustache and/or beard.  Or the one that has to admit it takes two or three razors to shave their legs and underarms, so they just hate doing it.

For the sake of honesty, I will admit that I have a serious androgen imbalance… I shave my upper lip and chin to get rid of those hairs.  I hate shaving my legs and underarms because by the next day, I have serious stubble and if I don’t shave every other day, I have guy hair on my legs and in my armpits, but shaving that often dries my skin out so bad that it physically hurts and no amount of lotion helps because I have Sjogren’s.  Nor do I want to be the woman in the locker room… I wear my sports bra in and out, even if I change all my other clothes.

This has created some insecurities over the years that I have had to overcome.  And I tried to overcome it by lowering my androgen levels.  In my early twenties, I went on a “no sugar, no carbs” diet that was high in protein and vegetables that contained natural estrogen.  For three years, I struggled to feel better both physically and mentally.

My androgen levels never decreased.  My estrogen levels only increased if my birth control had extra estrogen in it.  In other words, the PCOS diet, as the nutritionist called it; reduced my risk of diabetes and heart disease.  It did not fix the acne, the body hair, the insecurities that led to depression and ramped up my anxiety disorder or the migraines (they aren’t hormone related as it turns out).

The point is, diet helps, it definitely helps with all these physical conditions, but rarely is it a cure all and rarely does it work for everyone the exact same way.  I actually gained weight on the PCOS diet.  My anxiety got worse and after 3 years, it wasn’t just sugar withdrawal that was the cause.  And my depression got worse because my nutritionist kept insisting I was doing something wrong since I wasn’t feeling better on the diet.  She was convinced I was hiding in the closet sucking down Snickers Bars on bread.  Much later, I would discover that I had mild allergies to beef and pork, so my high protein diet was making me sick because I was allergic and was suddenly flooding my body with meats that I had never eaten in high quantities.

Eventually, I changed nutritionists.  The replacement was much more understanding and gave me a tip I will never forget:  If you change your diet for a specific reason and you don’t see results in six months, then the change isn’t working and you need to do something else.  For me, that something else was exercise.  I found I could maintain the diet I had, but when I exercised more, I felt better.  My androgen was still high, my estrogen was still low, I still had problems maintaining a “healthy weight,” and I still had to deal with the cosmetic effects of PCOS, but that was the job of a therapist, not a nutritionist.

I am considering the Beach Body Shakeology to help with my migraines, but I will give it a little more time.  I want to make sure her results stay consistent. It rarely hurts to try the change (unless you find out later you are allergic to the food you are now shoveling into your body), but don’t feel bad if it doesn’t work as promised.  Your body is different than someone else’s body and sometimes, the claims of change are exaggerated (there is no way she lowered her androgen levels enough to not have to shave her moustache which is worse than mine – I also learned that she had laser hair removal for it, which explains it so much better than not eating carbs).

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. sparky5805

     /  January 25, 2017

    I have PCOS too. Along with a host of other issues. But one thing I’ve noticed, that worked for me, is professional waxing. Laser hair removal didn’t work at all, it was just months and months of emptying my wallet. But oddly enough, I’ve noticed that over time the hair on my legs, chin, and neck has become more scarce and what is there has become much less corse. I’ve been very pleasantly surprised.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I’ll try that! I have talked to a few people about laser hair removal, but haven’t gone forward with it. I got to add High Cholesterol this year to the PCOS complications list. So I started on Metamucil and high cholesterol meds, I’m hoping to lower it with the Metamucil and go off the high cholesterol medications.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Renea

     /  January 26, 2017

    I was told to try Shakeology to help balance out my migraines as well, but it didn’t work for me. My problem is that it has stevia in it. While stevia is all natural, the plant it comes from is a member of the ragweed family. After taking the shakes for a couple of days, I had built up enough in my system to trigger my ragweed allergy. So fun rashes as well as sinus swelling which triggers migraines for me. Yeah…so much fun. On the other hand, I also have a friend who takes Shakeology and it does seem to have lessened her occurrences. Good luck if you try it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Yeah, I saw that on the list. I have a sensitivity to Stevia, it makes me feel hungry… like hollow leg hungry and the more I ingest, the worse the hunger pains get. So I won’t be trying it after all.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

