Time To Admit It


In my opinion, Fortified Dreams is the best book I have ever written.  I loved every single moment of it.  During the past year, I’ve faced some challenges with both my health and my personal life, which led to a bit of a crisis.

I’m afraid to publish…

Yes, a writer afraid to publish and not just the normal pre-publishing jitters, but absolute terror that my next book will suck.  Medications and chronic pain left me more scatterbrained than usual.  Even once I got it under control, I had some trouble staying focused for very long.  I started ideas and shelved them more than once.

Then there was the cockup with Flawless Dreams when Lola the Destroyer literally deleted the file by standing on my keyboard at a crucial moment.  I don’t know whether she helped me out or screwed me over.  Either is possible.

I did get the first part of Triggered Reality to the editor and she had some great suggestions.  I’m working on implementing them.  I have the cover ordered and drafts are coming, but the fact that I forgot to order the cover is proof enough that my head is not fully in the game.

The editor did make me feel a little better about it.  She swears it doesn’t suck and since I believe she would flat out say it, in those exact words – we have that kind of relationship.  With her blessing, I gained a little more confidence that Triggered Reality was on par with what I normally put out.

My goal is to get her the second part by the end of the week.  She’s got other stuff she’s working on, so I only feel sorta crappy that I missed getting it to her in a timely manner.

Ok, back your regularly scheduled programming…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. sparky5805

     /  January 18, 2017

    I understand chronic pain and the multitude of medications you have to take for certain illnesses. I also KNOW that there’s no way you could write a bad Dreams book. You are just that good an author. I can’t wait to get each one, even though I’ve signed up for notifications I still stalk Amazon to make sure I didn’t miss a new book. Just hang in there, keep doing what you’re doing, because it works. (And you are one of a very, very few authors who can keep me guessing. I read 2, sometimes 3 books a day. So it’s an elite club.)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,459 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

