Holidays


‘Twas the day before Christmas and all through the house, no one was moving in a hurry and one person was feeling Grinchier than usual…

I like the idea of Christmas; giving gifts, being nice to people, having the family together, etc.  I hate decorating for Christmas, which is strange, because I used to love it.

I can remember bugging my mom to put up the Christmas tree and set out all the decorations.  I would place ornaments on the tree and each one was special because it was going on our tree.  Were we sure we had enough lights?  What about garland?  What about the silver foil icicles (which I have come to think of as Devil’s Glitter ’cause that shit gets everywhere and it’s impossible to get it all up before June)?

We would make holiday candy and I loved that.  When I got old enough to man the stove without ruining the chocolate, I just sorta pushed mom out of the way and she supervised.  I can’t make fudge, no clue why, but I can do everything else and did.

I wrapped like a drunken elf who might also be on Valium, but hey, that was okay.  I still wrap like that, except I no longer wrap presents.  My mom or SO does it for me or it goes into a bag.  Now, I’ll take ten minutes arranging the tissue paper in that bag, but wrapping  gifts in paper, absolutely not.

I don’t know when I lost my desire to be part of the pre-Christmas festivities, but I did.  I’m not even sure why I lost my joy in making candy and putting up the tree.  It happened slowly.

I still love the other stuff. Especially the gift giving.  I love to watch people open their presents.  I love hanging out with my family.  I love that this time of year, people will actually give to a charity drive – although, I don’t know what this says about humanity the rest of the year.  Today and tomorrow are days I really won’t work.   This blog post is it for me until Monday.  And I actually wrote it last night.

Thankfully, most of the NFL games have been moved to today.  I’m looking forward to that almost as much as I am Sunday.  Yep, I’m officially Grinchier this year than last.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

