A Publishing House


About once a month, someone asks me to publish their book for them.  Usually the people are just not quite sure how publish a book or what they need to do to publish a book.  In January 2016, I created a how-to guide.  In April, I updated it to give contact info on the editors, proofers, cover artists, and formatters that I use.  So, I just hand these out now.

However, once in a while, it’s tempting to say Yeah, I’ll publish your book.  It’ll cost you $300 up front, then 30% of your royalties every month.  Which is in fact a better deal than what most publishing companies offer.

It works great unless the author is a complete flop, but that’s what the $300 is for, cover some of my initial costs. Also, it’s proof that the author is serious about publishing a book.

OR

I could agree to publish for no upfront costs and charge 50% of their monthly royalties.  But again, that only works if the book isn’t a flop.

And therein lies the real problem.  Most of the authors I’ve read that I liked are not the ones asking me to publish them.  I’m sure some of them would sell, but not all of them that I’ve read are going to make money.

On the flip side, I know it’s hard to indie publish.  There’s all sorts of things that have to be done and paid for.  It’s not cheap.  Most authors are begging for reviews until they get to a point where they are selling 100 books a day and reviews not only help sell books, but they are required for some advertisements.

But I worry about investing in some of my own books sometimes.  Investing in other people’s books is even more problematic.  I think I’ll just continue to hand out my guide to publishing.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. It’s an interesting thought – since you know what to do and who to farm out to…..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Joan

     /  September 22, 2016

    You haven’t mentioned how you are feeling. Is everything okay?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

