Depression?


I’ve been having a hard time lately.  My mother and I have Jude the Great Nephew every day.  I do what I can to assist her, but sometimes I feel like it isn’t enough.  Doing chores around the house is sort of like torture.  I don’t enjoy anything I do; not even darts or playing with Lola the Destroyer.  All of it because I hurt all the time.

However, the big one: I can’t find my funny and I’m struggling to get anything written, let alone anything funny.  This is officially interfering with my every day life.  Something has got to be done.

I don’t feel “sad” like one excepts when the word “depression” is mentioned.  I feel indifferent and blah.  I feel worthless because I can’t do much.  A trip to the grocery store causes my spine to start popping and once that happens, the very act of walking is a challenge.

Yesterday, I cancelled plans with my best friend.  Plans I had been looking forward to for months.  If I was a crier, I probably would have cried.  Unfortunately, I’m not and that’s part of the problem.

If I cried every time I went to the doctor’s office, they might do more to manage my pain.  If I wasn’t so pain tolerant, they might also do more.  However, I can tell them how much I hurt, but it doesn’t sink in because I can still stand up and walk around and considering how much those activities hurt, I shouldn’t be.

Most days, I’d put my pain at a 9.  I feel nauseated by the time evening arrives because I hurt and I’m exhausted.  And it’s more than just my back that hurts.  My legs hurt.  My feet tingle.  Neither feels like it should be able to support my weight.  But my 9 and everyone else’s 9 seems to be different.  Most people can’t function at a 9.  I can.  I can function at a 10.  I cut the tip of my finger off with a pair of scissors, it got a 4 despite the fact that I don’t really have a fingerprint left because of the scarring.  The last ovarian cyst I had rupture was 15 centimeters by 9 centimeters.  Considering an ovary is about a centimeter, it was huge – it got a 6.  It dumped something like 800cc of fluid into my abdomen.  I did go to the ER, but only because I knew it had been huge and I was worried it had damaged something, like an ovary, when it ruptured.  However, I’ve gotten used to cysts, even large cysts, on my ovaries, so most of the time, I don’t bother with the ER or even a doctor.

Oddly, I’ll bawl over a papercut though, but I didn’t even flinch the last time I dislocated my shoulder.  One of those things hurts a whole lot more than the other.  I even put my shoulder back in by myself with little more than a grunt.

Yet, I feel like a junkie looking for a fix when I go into the doctor’s office and start demanding narcotics (I can’t take NSAIDS and steroids kinda bother my stomach too).  So, most of the time, I don’t advocate for them.  I ask about alternative methods to handle the pain.

However, the alternative method this time is doing nothing.  I have an appointment this morning.  I’m actually at it as this blog post publishes.  Hopefully, I can find some sort of relief soon… I need to advocate better for myself.  I’m great at doing it for others, I don’t know why I can’t do it for myself.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Being your own advocate is very difficult for most people – that’s why hospitals are now hiring advocates for patients and advocates are used in the legal system. You definitely need to find alternative pain management and you need an advocate – is there a family member or close friend who might qualify?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. the bestie

     /  September 14, 2016

    print out all of your blog posts about your pain and canceling plans.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I’m chronically ill with a very long list of diagnoses. It took me many, many years of going from doctor to doctor, before I learned I HAD to become my own advocate. We know when something in our bodies isn’t right. We know when we have a pain that persists, that’s not normal. Just don’t give up. There are doctor’s out there that actually do care and will take the time to help you as much as they possibly can. It’s very frustrating, I know. You know you’re having pain that isn’t normal. don’t let anyone, especially a doctor blow you off, like it’s all in your head. You know it’s not. Keep self advocating. It’s the only way you’ll ever get any relief and find any peace in your life. I wish you the best on your journey.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Rachael snow

     /  September 14, 2016

    Managing pain is never easy and the idea that 1-10 is a universal thing is unrealistic. Your 10 is not my 10 is not someone else’s 10. And the fact is every body processes pain meds at a different rate. Natural red heads usually need a higher amount of pain killers than others because of their body chemistry. Your right, find an advocate, someone who really knows you. So when you say “I’m sleeping well” your advocate can say she sleeping 3-4 hours a night. Being brave is good, suffering because if it isn’t. My sister and I have had to do this for my husband, our mother, and my father in-law. Also I don’t know what your state laws are but you might look into cannabis oil. It will relax those mussels and relieve a lot of the pain. my husband went from heavy pain killers 4 times a day for 8 years,for his back and hips ,to no pain killers at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. patricia Lupien

     /  September 15, 2016

    Good luck. Try cannabis oil. Vape it .Maybe it will help

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

