Irony To A Writer


As a writer, I have a few pet peeves.  However, I also have one big “make me smile” dose of irony.  And it has everything to do with reviews…

Every so often, I get a review saying how poorly edited a book is.  I know that I have struggled with editors and proofers and I have finally found one of each that I love and that work with me.  However, editing and proofing is expensive and I publish so fast that I have to pick and choose when to have them go through my back catalogue.

For the most part, I just shrug at these reviews.  I’ve read some great books in desperate need of an editor, but it doesn’t normally bother me.  The editing, typing, grammar, fat fingering of keys, misspelled words, and wrong word usage has to be awful for me to comment.

Back up a paragraph; every so often, I get a review saying how poorly edited a book is.  Strangely, these reviews could usually benefit from the help of an editor and proofer.

A recent review of Elysium Dreams said the following:

Book 2 in the serious was more better than the 1st.  The character developmenting was great.  The plot was intimately done.  Aislynn Kane and the STCU is amaing.  The reason I didn’t give 5 stars to Elysium Drums was it needed more edited.  Maybe the authur should hire some one to read the book an fix the errors.

*Krissy – I’m sorry about the eye twitch that probably caused.

The other one that cracks me up (also about Elysium Dreams – Reviewer gave it 5 stars):

Great book, but it was too unbelievable.  Serial killers don’t work like that.  They especially aren’t normal like the killer in this book was.  The author needs to do more research, maybe read Helter Skelter so they know what real serial killers are like.  Also, I’m not sure why the author has her character getting hypothermia.  Alaska is very warm in March.  If the author had researched serial killers, locations, and added a vampire like in 30 Days of Night, the book would have been better.

For the record, I have read Helter Skelter which is when I decided the Manson Family were more mass murderer or spree killer than serial killer.  But it’s nice to know a vampire being added would have made the book better.  I’ll try to think about 30 Days of Night next time I send Aislinn somewhere warm, like northern Canada, in March.

🙂

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Edie

     /  September 11, 2016

    OMG, how do you not fall off your chair laughing hysterically??? I hope you get at least a few poignant reviews to balance these out! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I get plenty of good and bad reviews, and then there are these.

      Like

      Reply
      • Edie

         /  September 12, 2016

        To each his own, but I can’t see why you would get bad reviews…I haven’t read books this exciting in years, and I read incessantly! Take them with a grain of salt, I’d say!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t mind bad reviews. It’s usually just because the book wasn’t the readers cup of tea. And bad reviews prove real people are reading the books!

        Like

  2. Joan

     /  September 11, 2016

    I think Texas in August would be cooler…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Margaret Stamford

     /  September 11, 2016

    Being an Australian I can’t pick on much when it comes to criticising the temperature in any of your states. Grammatically we have many differences, in spelling etc, and sometimes I need to utilise a thesaurus, but honestly it is the story that holds me, not necessarily the language. As far as critics go, “those who can’t, critique!” Hadena, you keep on doing what you are doing, because I am still reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I have to agree with how do you stay in your chair?? Gorilla or Super glue?? I mean come on ..what are they frustrated editors or readers.. because it has to be a pretty big goof to stop my reading.. otherwise I just keep on rolling.. and you know about my Mom.. retired grade school teacher hands me a “Rough Draft” corrected in red and just lacking a grade .. and that is my Mom reading something written as a entertainment for her and an Aunt and not for publication..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I fell off my chair – actually the first review gave me more than an eye twitch – seriously horrible – the second review just made me roll my eyes – seriously where do these people come from

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. patricia Lupien

     /  September 12, 2016

    Thanks for the laugh. I needed that this morning. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

