My Mom is a Hot Taco


My mother had this really great idea a few months ago, which I supported, because I loved mine and thought it was a great idea too.  She bought a futon.

Now, I loved loved loved my futon.  I hate innerspring mattresses and my futon kept my hips from hurting when I slept (I have arthritis in them, it’s not bad, but it’s annoying when I sleep sometimes).  She has fibromyalgia and the smallest bedroom, so I was laboring under the belief that she would also love a futon and she could set it up to watch TV.

We bought the futon.  Then we bought the thicker futon mattress.  Then we added memory foam.  Then she added an air mattress.  It turns out she does not find the futon as comfortable as I did.  I think it needs a better mattress, but that’s just me.  Until then, she has to use a small step ladder to climb onto her futon and it can’t be set up.

However, last night, took the cake.  She came into the living around midnight to complain that she wasn’t asleep yet.  The air mattress didn’t have enough air in it, so the edges were folding up around her and it was making her hot.  I love my mom, but that image was funny as hell.  I pictured her folded in the middle of her air mattress, sides cradling her on either side, her head sticking out one end, feet out the other and sweating… Meaning, I actually pictured my mother as a taco.  I giggled aloud, which means I’m probably going to Hell, I don’t remember if there was a circle specifically for people who laughed at their parents, but there probably is, but I’ll deal with that in the afterlife.  It still made me laugh out loud.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Christina Eidelberg

     /  August 21, 2016

    I giggled too! Still, she is your mom. I’m probably ok. You are, definitely, going to hell! If your mom could ever extricate herself from her taco/bed, she might agree. Lol 😈 still giggling a bit. Love ya.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

