The Battery Condundrum


Sunday night, as I wrote, my laptop screen dimmed, alerting me to it being at 25%.  So, I fiddled around for a few minutes, grabbed my power cord, and poof! My screen went black before I got the laptop plugged in. However, from 25% to dead was less than two minutes; because my fiddling meant getting up and grabbing something to drink and then lighting a cigarette before plugging in.

I was irritated to say the least.  However, I got plugged in, everything up and running again, and started writing.  I worked about 30 minutes when I moved wrong and unplugged the cord. And the screen went black, again, and this time, there was no saving what I had been working on.  But I replugged in, rebooted, and hoped for the best.

That’s when I realized my battery wasn’t charging and the little battery indicator light was flashing.  So, I went online to figure out how much a battery was going to set me back.  Holy shit.

I’m using an Asus.  It’s approximately 2 and a half years old.  The laptop model is still available but the battery isn’t.  So, Monday, I contacted Asus directly looking for my battery.  It turns out, they had problems with these batteries, so they switched to a different battery.  To replace it is going to cost me $200 for a new one.  Or I can buy an unguaranteed used one for $50.  The freakin’ laptop only cost me $250 on Amazon.  The new, non-defective batteries don’t work in my model of laptop.  So, I can spend $200 on a battery or I can suck it up and buy the laptop I actually want, which is about $800.

Until then, I’m going to have to be very careful.  The writing program I use has an autosave function, but it slows my computer down exponentially.  (It’s hard to write when the words are frozen on the screen by the autosave – it is the only downside to the program I have found though)  And if it comes unplugged, I just lose everything I didn’t save.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Maria D

     /  August 10, 2016

    Wow…that is a load of B.S. – their defective battery didn’t work so the new and improved batter is almost as much as a new cheap laptop – that is so wrong on so many levels that I’m not even sure where to begin – when you buy your new laptop – I hope it’s a different manufacturer – that or you get an extended warranty on their merchandise including the battery …..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Darlin’, this is not just your job but your passion. Buy the laptop you want. I’ll go buy some more of your books for my family to help you along there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks. I had already made the decision to buy the one I wanted. Writing the blog post made the decision for me. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that in the long run, it would save me time, money, and frustration.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

