Metamucil the Wonder Supplement(?)


At my last visit with my neurologist we were discussing things that might help with my migraines.  He had looked over all my recent labs and found that aside from a blip, I was in pretty good health.  My cholesterol was where it should be.  My sugar was where it should be.  My blood pressure was great.  My heart rate is a little fast, but it has always been a little fast (resting for me is in the high 90s).

However, he pointed out that I was over 35 and I needed to start looking at my long-term health situations.  His advice started with quit smoking, something I’ve been needing to do since I started, but it isn’t going to happen any time soon.  But it ended with and start drinking an 8 ounce glass of Metamucil a day.

Seriously?  I know that Metamucil has been recommended by doctors for a lot of different reasons and my mother has in fact lowered her cholesterol and improved her blood pressure after using it daily for a couple of years.  However, this wasn’t my GP, this was my neurologist.

Meaning the guy who takes scans of my head, fills my skull/scalp with Botox, and tells me that quitting smoking is the best thing I can do for my migraines, thinks I should be using Metamucil.  He gave me the list of health benefits and things Metamucil does for the body (most of them I knew).  But he did surprise me with one: People who have migraines, sometimes see a decrease in number of migraine days when they use Metamucil regularly because it helps improve circulation by removing cholesterol that clogs arteries.  Well, I’ll be.

So, I started drinking Metamucil every day.  I’m all about fewer migraine days. We’ll see how it goes.

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Yeah…my doctor told me the same thing – I was doing it regularly but have kinda slacked off recently. My doctor said no one in this country gets enough fiber …go figure

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Wow! Keep us posted if this works…wow!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. patricia Lupien

     /  August 6, 2016

    Wow I know all to well about trying to quit smoking. I’ve tried everything except hypnosis at this point. I like smoking it calms my nerves. I don’t drink. In fact all I do is read and watch movies and yard sale shop. But thanks for the tip on the Metamucil. I will try it. Hope it works for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

