Inspiration? Entertainment? Both.


The other night, I was watching Mirrors with Kiefer Sutherland.  It was about 9:30 pm.  I booted my laptop to check email at about the time the woman’s reflection rips her bottom jaw off.  My mother, who normally loves horror moves, grabbed the remote and turned over to The Equalizer.  She stated Mirrors was too gory before bed.

As she is saying this, Denzel Washington’s character is stabbing a guy under his chin with a corkscrew.  This exchange then takes place:

Mom: Yes it was too gory, she ripped her face off.

Me:  Not her, her reflection and it was just the bottom jaw.

Mom:  But she couldn’t stop it from happening.

Me:  Well the obviously the Russian guy can’t stop Denzel from killing him with a corkscrew, but you aren’t complaining about that.

Mom: It’s not as gory.

Me: His mouth is being forced apart by the corkscrew as he drowns in his own blood.  How is that not as gory.

Mom: It’s just different.

In reality, the difference was Kiefer Sutherland v. Denzel Washington.  She’s a bigger fan of Denzel.  If his reflection ripped off his bottom jaw, it would have been different too.

See, it’s moments like these that inspire me.  Now, I want to prove that pulling one’s bottom jaw off is no different than stabbing them with a corkscrew.  And because that’s what I do for a living, I’m sure it’s going to come up in book… possibly very soon.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Lol…just so you know my mother would have said they were both too violent and gory…..I have to admit that I like The Equalizer too and have never seen Mirrors – I’m just not as big a fan of Keifer either ….lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Lesli

     /  August 3, 2016

    I have to agree with your mom. Denzel makes almost anything palatable. I know you’ll rise to the challenge and very explicitly describe how the two are similar.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

