Rethinking the Leg Pain


So, I’m rethinking my leg pain.  The one that makes my Wednesday nights unbearable.  I have decided the most likely candidate is a circulation issue and we need to redo my circulation tests.

It’s complicated because there are a couple of things going on.  One of which is very hard to explain, but I’ll try.

  • About five years ago, I noticed that when my legs got really cold, they hurt.  It feels like my tibia and fibula are being crushed in a vice.
  • Last September/October, I began to feel this pain while playing darts.  Not every night, just nights I played every match.  The longer the matches, the more likely it was to hurt.  It lasts about a day and much like the pain above, it’s acute, sharp, and achy, if that makes any sense.  I know it wasn’t bothering me last summer, because I did well in ladies’ singles league with tough competition.
  • This spring it got worse.  Taking Lola for a walk made them hurt.  Playing outside with her for very long made them hurt.  Standing for any length of time made them hurt.  I bought different shoes, thinking that was the problem, but it didn’t help.
  • June it got even more unbearable.  As ladies’ singles started, I found that after just a few matches, maybe 6 games of darts, it felt like my legs were being crushed.
  • Last week, I got home from darts and cried.  It was four in the morning before I was able to finally fall asleep.  Tylenol didn’t help.  I can’t take NSAIDS. And it was so painful that I literally rocked on the couch with heat on them and cried.
  • Yesterday, we drove up to the campground.  Sitting in the car made them hurt.  Getting out and moving around afterwards, made them hurt worse.  The drive home today was awful.  They still hurt from yesterday and they began to hurt even more when I got back in the car.
  • Today, I have heat on them again.  I’ve taken my Tylenol, but it hasn’t helped.

Since I know I don’t have an vitamin deficiencies and all the other tests have come back as normal (thyroid, diabetes, fibromyalgia, rheumatoid arthritis, bone diseases, osteoporosis, and I lack hairline fractures of my tibia and fibula), that only leaves my circulation system left.  We tested it several years ago, when I first started having trouble with the cold, but it was healthy then.  Now, I’m beginning to rethink those tests.  I considered the cold equals pain thing to be a symptom, but my hands and arms also hurt when I get cold.

I have an appointment Friday to talk to the doctor again.  This time, I’m going to ask for my circulation to be tested again.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Hoping you get answers, and more importantly, feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Yes, sounds like a circulation issue – hopefully the doctor will find out what is causing the issue and be able to treat it and fix it:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Christina Eidelberg

     /  July 31, 2016

    I work in healthcare. Your symptoms sound, so much, like diabetic neuropathy. Yet, your sugar levels are good, correct? You must spend countless hours online. As a highly regarded writer, you probably can’t get away from your devices. You have tested for all the practical problems. What if it is something so simple, you missed it. I must sound condescending. I don’t mean to be like that. But, “if you have excluded the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth.” Posture, ergonomic chairs, proper breaks in between computer sessions and, don’t laugh, good shoes might be something to look in to if all else fails. Sometimes, even a new matress can help. I’m sure all of this has been explored; but, who knows? Hope you find some relief soon!!

    Christina Eidelberg

    (I finally got to use my fave Sherlock Holmes quote. Ha!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I thought of those first. When changing everything up didn’t help, I started the medical testing. My sugars are good. I’m high risk for diabetes, so we check for it twice a year. However, I am over 35, smoke, and on Depo and have a blood disorder (which is why my circulation was tested when I started having problems with cold being painful). We had hoped it was the result of another condition, but that doesn’t seem to be the case.

      I do think about my sedentary lifestyle since I’m a writer. Every hour I get up and move and surprisingly, I took to wearing true spined corsets to ensure I didn’t start slouching. I also move my laptop around and work from different places and positions. I started doing all this after I developed plantar fasciitis from sitting on my root foot all the time!

      Like

      Reply
    • And I love Sherlock Holmes!

      Like

      Reply
  4. patricia Lupien

     /  August 1, 2016

    Good morning. I have a similar pain but more like a toothache pain in my legs and feet . Have them test you for neuropathy. Or peripheral neuropathy. are you a smoker ? I take lyrica, but the best thing for pain which is not an nsais is baclofen. It works great.At least mention to your Dr. I suffered for years before a neurologist finally diagnosed me. Good luck

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. patricia Lupien

     /  August 1, 2016

    I noticed you also said cold bothered you My mother and I both suffer from that our fingers get all numb and tingling and so do our feet . It’s called Reynards disease. Thats why I hate living in New England. I hate the snow.It’s pretty to look at . I had a desk job for 17 years. My symptoms got worse over time to the point where I had to leave and apply for disability. Compression stockings help.
    But you have to get used to them at first, they hurt like he’ll the first time you put them on.
    Of course my family says quit smoking
    but I have tried everything except hypnosis. It’s my only vise. I did quit for a month and all I did was eat anything chocolate I could get my hands on lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I do not have Raynaud’s, but I have a cousin that does, so we checked for it (that’s when we discovered I do Sjögren’s).

      Like

      Reply
  6. Shannon Watz

     /  August 5, 2016

    From experience and since Raynaud’s has been ruled out, do your legs and feet or arms and hands swell at all? Do you turn colors, anywhere from pink/red to a blue/purple shade?
    I really should comment to you more often! I feel bad that I haven’t! I can relate to so many of the things you deal with in life. From having a puppy, we have a 5 year old and a 10 month old, both German Shepards. And I also have a chronic pain disease. So I can relate and understand how you feel!
    I hope you get some answers to your leg and arm pain and sensitivity to cold. I may have a suggestion depending on the answers from above.
    I am also so thankful that your SO is on the mend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

