Lola the Protector


*Kris – This should make you smile a little.

I mentioned that I was having trouble going to bed yesterday when I was talking about my SO and how the burnt shirt reminded me of the emotional roller coaster I have been on all week.

The trouble with going to bed is Lola.  She watches me put the cream on my SO and it doesn’t feel good.  So, he occasionally says “ouch”.  Which is the exact words I use when Lola hurts me while we are playing.

During the last week, as she has watched, she has put together that I am in fact hurting him… She doesn’t understand that it’s for his own good and there is no way I can do it without hurting him.

On Wednesday night, she blocked the doorway to the bedroom and snapped her jaws at me when I attempted to go to bed.  Eventually, she did let me in the room… it was 3 in the morning.

Thursday night didn’t prove any better.  She jumped in bed with him about thirty minutes before I called it quits for the night.  When I went to climb into bed at 2 a.m., she actually gave me a small growl.  I made plans to sleep on the couch, but I guess after some thought, she decided I wasn’t the most evil person on the planet and at 2:30, she came and licked my face and allowed me to enter the bedroom.

Friday night, as I changed his bandages, she gave me a small nip on my leg.  Nothing too serious or painful, it was more shocking than anything else.  I didn’t get on to her and she must have rethought that nip because she began licking my pajamas in that spot immediately after.  I think she was apologizing.

However, her apology only lasted until bedtime.  When I attempted to go curl up in my bed she decided that I was once again not entirely welcome.

She’s changed a great deal this week.  Instead of roughhousing with my SO, which is her normal behavior, she’s been gentle and hasn’t been keen on playing with him unless he takes the lead.  Even then, she acts timid bringing him back a ball or other toy.

And she monitors all my interactions with him, even attempting to separate us if she feels I might be doing something to hurt him.  I gave him a kiss on the cheek and she came and leaned against my legs, forcing me away.

All in all, she’s found her herding instinct and really stepped up her protective nature this week.  Between trying to give me a possum to making sure I’m not doing anything to hurt my SO, she’s actually driving me a little nuts.  But it’s proof that she is a good dog who knows exactly what she’s doing and understands the world around her.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  July 24, 2016

    Lola has a better sense of smell than we do so she no doubt smells the fact that your SO is hurt/sickly – it’s great that she’s become protective of him but not so great that she’s treating you like the enemy….lol…Glad it’s not too bad though and hopefully your SO will be better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Joan

     /  July 24, 2016

    I have an American Eskimo. He has the same herding instincts which is hard when you have friends over and he wants everyone to stay in their places and not move around. Or when someone knocks on the door and he won’t let you answer because it’s a stranger.

    On the subject of your SO, I thought you would have freaked out more. Your main characters all hate fire and I thought some of that was not just a character trait.

    Love your work. Wish you peace.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m not a fan of burns, I suffered a small 3rd degree when I was a teen as well as a larger 2nd degree as an adult. I’m a fairly decent improvised nurse when I need to be and I’ve always been level headed in a crisis. Afterwards, I might break down for a while, but while it’s happening, I can remain as stoic as I need to.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

