Feeling Like A Junky


Sunday I went to the ER for a migraine and got a double dose of morphine.  I’ve never had two doses of morphine within a short amount of time and by short I mean within the same day.  It did the trick and got rid of the migraine.

Then this morning happened.  Lola the Destroyer took off after a squirrel.  I have a bad shoulder and was holding the leash with that hand.  Now, I have a tingling sensation in that arm and hand, my shoulder aches, even the muscles around the scapula ache.  I heard it pop, but I’m used to it sliding in and out of socket, so I put it back in myself.  However, that didn’t help with the tingling or the ache around my shoulder blade.

Yet, I have no desire to go to the ER.  Twice in three days might be a record even for me.  My doctor can’t get me in and even if he could, he’d send me to the ER to have it looked at.  I could go to urgent care, but I was there on Saturday, where they did nothing but what I had already been doing for my migraine.

The problem is I am pretty sure they already think I’m a junkie.  Or at least a drug seeking patient.  That’s what happens when you have migraines and are accident prone.  In the last month and a half, I have been to the doctor twice for my back and once for a migraine and now, there’s a shoulder thing.  If I was a health care professional, I might look at me sideways too.

And I get it.  There are a lot of recreational drug users in this world.  They will go to a lot of lengths to get the drugs they crave.  But they sure do make it hard on the clumsy people of the world. Because I can go to urgent care and get my shoulder looked at, specifically for the tingling problem, but that won’t change the fact that I have been in a doctor’s office, ER, or urgent care facility multiple times in the last five days.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I so feel for you. Bad enough you are in pain. To be intimidated so they won’t think you are a junkie. Argh! This world!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Maria D.

     /  July 12, 2016

    I hope your shoulder feels better soon – bad bad Lola – sigh

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. patricia Lupien

     /  July 13, 2016

    You reminded me of Aislinn when you said you just popped your finger back in place lol.Sorry about your headaches. If you need something that strong then too bad. Migraines are no joke. You are not a junkie!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Next time you go to the ER for a migraine, ask for their migraine cocktail. It’s a mix of IV benedryl, NSAID, and an antinausea like phenergen… sometimes it even comes with oxygen.

    As a long time migraine sufferer it took years to get anyone to take my weekly trips to the ER seriously when I’d agree to their narcotic/opioid treatments until I hit one nurse three times in 2 weeks. She told me about this quick shot that usually helped and there wasn’t a risk of migraine bounce back from the drugs .

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. It works really well and I don’t have rebound migraines from opioids. I do from things like Neurotin and strangely, barbiturates.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

