A Work Update


One of the things that indies have to stay on top of are deadlines.  There is no one behind us, pushing us to get things done, there is no one going if it isn’t on my desk by tomorrow, we’re going to pull the book, etc.  We have to impose these on ourselves and then follow through with them.

My deadlines are fast approaching.  I have to have three books to proofers and editors by in August.  Where am I on these three books?  Well, let’s just say I’m not holding any ticker tape parades for completing them in the near future.

Lola the Destroyer and Writing Buddy hasn’t been helping.  It’s hard to type with a sixty pound dog between you and the keyboard.  Lately, she’s been determined to sleep on my lap while I try to work.  And occasionally, I have go through and fix paragraphs of her typing as her legs flail in her sleep.

Also, I’ve been giving thought to Elysium Dreams the audiobook.  It’s about an $8,000 project.  It would require two narrators – 1 for the overall story and 1 for the killer’s chapters – and as the second longest book in the series, will be approximately 13 hours of audio.  A good narrator is going to run about $600 a finished hour, but since that narrator is going to have to give money to a second narrator for some of the chapters, certain chapters are no doubt going to be much higher.  I wish I had $8,000 lying around because I feel Elysium Dreams is perfect and would make a great audiobook.  Plus the demand for it is starting to rise.  If someone were to offer me a contract just on audiobooks, I’d take it.  So far, no one has, so I continue to try and think of the most cost effective way to make it happen.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

