We Have a Boy!


My poor niece Brittanie finally gave birth on the morning of July 8 at 9:15 am.  That’s 22 hours of labor for those playing the home game, 12 of them at hospital.

Jude was large, weighing in at 8.8 pounds and 21 inches long.  For the record, I was 8.8 pounds and 21 inches long, just an odd coincidence, since babies in our family tend to be in the 7 pound range.

This is my first great nephew (or great anything).  I’m pretty excited about it.  I didn’t think I would be, but as the due date grew closer, I found myself getting anxious.  Then I remembered, I was always excited to become an aunt too.  It is surprising when you consider I’m not much of a kid person.  And my family would say that was an understatement.

As a matter of fact, on Wednesday, I even found myself shopping for baby clothes.  I not only dislike kids, but I despise shopping.  To find myself looking at little boy outfits 0-3 months was shocking to most that know me.  The fact that some were bought surprised them even more.

Now, I just have to figure out how to limit myself on book buying for Jude.  Every kid should have a library. Thankfully, Brittanie is a big reader, so she won’t mind the book buying until I start overcrowding all her available space.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Congrats and don’t forget to have Mom see if she can sign up for the Dolly Partons Imagination Library, If she is in an eligible zip code They will send a free book a month from Birth to age 5 <<(I think that's what it is anyway) My daughter is 4 & 1/2 and still gets them That will save you some book $$ or you can sign her up and surprise her 🙂
    https://usa.imaginationlibrary.com/register_my_child.php?gclid=Cj0KEQjwnv27BRCmuZqMg_Ddmt0BEiQAgeY1l1u_9FWF94dRGDNtipF2C06qM2RT4WD8kvHuqt8wRP8aAl_e8P8HAQ#.V4BW6fkrLIU

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Free books rock!

       /  July 11, 2016

      I did this with my nephew and found a whole bunch of new favorite kids books! They are awesome titles. You get some oldie but goodies, like Ferdinand but one of our new favorites is “Roar of a Snore,” especially since his dad snores really loudly. 🙂 The last book sent is about starting kindergarten.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Every kid should have a library! I can see you are a wonderful Tanta already 💖

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

