Clarifying A Comment


Last week, I mentioned that I had pretty much stopped reviewing books.  Someone pointed out the error of my words.  I have not stopped reviewing books everywhere, I just don’t do it on my blog anymore.  Every once in a great while, if I’ve read a book that I like, I will write a little something about it.  Otherwise, I only put reviews on Goodreads and the place I bought the book.

Now, every writer has a trigger that pisses them off, but the key is not to respond to it.  For me, I hate being compared to a specific writer who makes a whole lot more money than me, because I feel they write more for the money than the love of writing or being told to take notes on how they write.  But no matter how much I hate it, I have never attacked a reviewer for it.

Of course, I’m not everyone.  The problem with reviewing books on my blog, especially ones I didn’t like, is that some authors feel a need to go on the defensive and occasionally, the offensive, regarding the bad review.  On more than one occasion, I’ve gotten long, rambling emails telling me what an idiot I am in very poetic language for not liking Book X by Author A.  One attacked me through the comments section on my blog.

It has even gone so far as to have Author A write a horrible review that had nothing to actually do with the book on an retailer site.  Retaliation reviewing is so much fun… much like junior high.

So, no, I don’t do blog reviews anymore unless I really like a book.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. patricia Lupien

     /  July 6, 2016

    So out of curiosity what was the best book you’ve read lately because I’m waiting for your new book to come out and so need a suggestion. No romance novels please lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

