Just Lock the Doors


I hurt my back over.  Again.  My thought, I aggravated the pulled muscles I sustained in early June.  I called my doctor, but he couldn’t get me in until Thursday.

However, I can barely stand-up and that’s only with a stoop.  Walking sucks.  Standing sucks.  Getting up sucks.  In other words, everything that involves my back sucks.

My doctor’s office recommended I head to their convenient care clinic.  And I did.

I might as well have stayed home.

Normally, I’m not one to complain when all that’s available is a nurse practitioner.  But the advice I got was take Advil and don’t do anything strenuous for several days.

Um, I can’t take Advil or ibuprofen or sodium naproxen or aspirin.  They bother my stomach.  To be exact, it feels like I have been stabbed in the stomach with a pitchfork and someone is slowly rotating it.  Or at least, that’s how I think it feels.  Since I’ve never actually experienced that, I can’t be 100% positive, but I have a fairly good imagination when it comes to pain and that’s what I believe it would feel like.

So, she tells me she’ll have the doctor look over the case tomorrow (which would be today) and see about prescribing some steroids.

Hmmmm…. Let me get this straight.  You are a licensed nurse practitioner.  I am a patient in pain, enough that my blood pressure is 151/99, and you want me to go home and wait until tomorrow?  And you have once again told me to take Advil after I have told you twice that I can’t and I know it says that in my chart.  Are you just not listening to me or what?  Oh, you’re going to ask him to also prescribe some ketorolac tomorrow.  Um, still not listening to me, are you?  I have just repeatedly told you that my stomach has trouble with NSAIDS.  I even pointed out that I could handle Toradol shots, but not oral tablets.  And you are still going to recommend to the doctor I’m not seeing that he prescribe ketorolac tablets, which is generic for Toradol and therefore nothing something I can take orally, for the pain?

Now, I’m getting a headache too.

Why was this clinic freakin’ open today?  There is no doctor available.  The licensed nurse practitioner can’t seem to figure out prescriptions.  I was offered a note for work, despite telling them I work for myself, at home.  But mostly, I came here to get relief from something that required medical treatment and I got sent home with a “the doctor will be in tomorrow.”  There are five other urgent care facilities in this town.  I should have gone to any of them, because it seems I paid you to agree with me and do nothing.

*Update:  Around 6 pm yesterday, I got a call from my pharmacy, letting me know that I had a prescription ready; prednisone, which I can’t take for the same mystical reason that I can’t take NSAIDS and it is also clearly labeled in my chart…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

