Shit They Left Out of the Manual


They say the only things that are certain are death and taxes, but I have noticed that there is another: you will have to deal with a stupid person at least once a month.  I’m talking about that special kind of stupid where they open their mouth and you wonder how they’ve managed to live this long.  That little nugget of information was not in the Manual for the Living.

As a matter of fact, I’ve noticed a lot of shit that they left out of the manual.  The older I get the more I notice.  So, I’ve started a special section specifically for things that aren’t in the manual.  The inaugural post is going to be about a side effect of menopause (men this is relevant for you too).

I was warned about hot flashes, night sweats, weight gain, changes in libido, and skin health changes.  I was not warned about the changes to my wallet.

Before menopause, I got hot, but I could still comfortably hang out in jeans and T-shirt despite it being 100 degrees.  Now, I do not require a hot flash to be uncomfortably hot.  I just get hot and stay hot.

Two years ago, when this whole nightmare started, I had to give in and buy shorts.  I blamed global warming, but it was really Hadena warming.  I hadn’t owned shorts for over 2 decades because they hadn’t been necessary.  Suddenly, they were definitely necessary and I had to fork over the cash to buy some because I was melting in the summer.

Fast forward to present day… Sunday, I found myself searching my closet for a tank top.  Except, I don’t own any tank tops.  I also don’t own any sleeveless shirts, peasant sleeve shirts, or what’s that other style of sleeve that’s really short, really light, and very open… yeah, I don’t own any of those either.  So, I grabbed the only thing I could think of, my bathing suit top.  I wear tankinis (my upper half and lower half are two different sizes, swimsuit shopping is a special sort of hell) and the upper part of my black swim suit got paired with a set of shorts because I was pretty sure I was turning into a molten mass of gooey fat and flesh.

I spent a few days thinking about my experience on Sunday.  My heat tolerance is not getting better with age and menopause is only making it that much worse (and my gynecologist has said women who go through it in their 30s usually have worse side effects).  That made me realize that I had two options; do nothing or buy some shirts that were lightweight, sleeveless or nearly sleeveless, and breathed, because no matter how much I love my T-shirts, they do allow air to pass through them very easily.

The gist is, I forked over a whole bunch of money for blousy, billowy, semi-sleeved or cami/tank top shirts in order to keep myself from become a puddle of gelatinous mass that sweats.  These are not the type of shirts I would normally wear.  For starters, they aren’t sporting band logos or funny sayings about writing.  They are the type I think look good on the models, but I can’t see myself ever wearing… Until now.

Why didn’t the manual warn me that I was suddenly going to start requiring summer clothes?  And that those clothes were not going to be cheap?  My T-shirts are usually less than $20 a piece.  Not these things, they are much more expensive… And I now understand why, women have to buy them.  We have no choice.  At some point, we are going to start requiring clothing that is well made and allows air flow.

And this, guys, is why your menopausal wife is suddenly dropping $600 on shirts without sleeves and sundresses and camis that do not require coverups and look like they might be see through.  It isn’t about fashion or even looking nice, it’s because they are freakin’ hot.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Lesli

     /  June 23, 2016

    It’s a special kind of hell. I never understood how the “change” would effect me. Sure, my mother and aunts got hot and constantly fanned themselves with church bulletins, but we live in Florida, everyone gets hot. This. This is so much worse. Fans in Florida don’t help. The humidity makes it worse. I’ve always been kind, funny, and outgoing, but now my family can’t even get me to go outside in the summer. I’m currently rereading Butchered Dreams as my kids, niece, and nephew are at Sea World. No way was I going out in that heat to stand in line like cattle. Forget the pool; it’s hotter than a bath. My poor family get chill bumps in the house at night because if I don’t lower the a/c, forget me sleeping. They say this could last for years. Good grief! I applaud you buying new clothes for the “journey” and hope you reach the other side soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thankfully, length of time in is determined by family history and my mother was super fast (just 3 bad years and only 1 of those was really bad). I’m hoping I am as quick as her!!

      I feel for you. Missouri is going to have record heat and we usually have 70% or higher humidity (no idea why, we are landlocked!?!?).

      Like

      Reply
  2. I have been cold my entire life, until now, where I feel like I have been turned into a convection oven. Good luck/bad luck? Perhaps my pores are clearing with each schvitz and my liver toxins are being dispersed healthfully? One can only hope.

    Like

    Reply
    • Patricia lupien

       /  June 24, 2016

      I’m turning 53 soon. Last summer I didn’t even break a sweat. I love the heat. I too hate wearing shorts but do love tank tops and t-shirts. This year forget it. My love of sitting in the sun lasts 20 minutes and the night sweats, i find myself turning my pillow over ,and over all night and keep a pack of wet wipes on my night stand. Oh by the way I hate air conditioning so I have the fan blowing on me. I will turn it on for the cats if it gets too bad out. Please tell me this doesn’t last 3 years. I will have to purchase one of those sports cooling towels.I think I
      might anyways. Hate menopause!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • It sure is a wild ride. Had like 3 hot flashes about six months ago. Then nothing. I thought, what’s the big deal. That was easy. Then two weeks ago, inferno! Bizarre doesn’t cut it!

        Liked by 1 person

    • One can hope and I have spent my whole life turning up the thermostat. I use a heated throw blanket even in the summer. So, this is a completely new experience for me too.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Patricia lupien

     /  June 24, 2016

    I’m turning 53 soon. Last summer I didn’t even break a sweat. I love the heat. I too hate wearing shorts but do love tank tops and t-shirts. This year forget it. My love of sitting in the sun lasts 20 minutes and the night sweats, i find myself turning my pillow over ,and over all night and keep a pack of wet wipes on my night stand. Oh by the way I hate air conditioning so I have the fan blowing on me. I will turn it on for the cats if it gets too bad out. Please tell me this doesn’t last 3 years. I will have to purchase one of those sports cooling towels.I think I
    might anyways. Hate menopause!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Most of the time, if you can cool your diaphragm, you can cool off. My doctor said 5-6 years is average, my mother was just super fast.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

