Lola’s The Boss


Lola has assigned roles to each of her family members.  It also appears that she has assigned us bedtimes.

The other night, around 9:30, she began snapping her jaws at my mother.  My mother got up, put her house shoes on, and attempted to take her out.  But Lola didn’t want out and she made this very clear when she gave two short barks.

My dog doesn’t bark very often.  So, getting two barks out of her meant something was going on.  We tried a few different things to no avail.  She continued to snap her jaws, her way of trying to tell us something.

Then she suddenly ran into my mother’s bedroom and hopped up on the bed.  After a moment, she ran back into the living room and snapped her jaws and continued to do this until my mother stood up to go to bed… at ten minutes until 10 pm.

At 1 am, she began to do the same thing to me.  So, I shut down the laptop and went to bed, despite it being an hour before my usual bedtime.

Yesterday, early afternoon, she decided she was ready for a nap.  She also decided my mom was ready for a nap.  Now, to be fair, my mom does usually nap around 10:30 am.  As 10:30 came and went and my mom did not get up to go to her room, Lola began her thing again.  She snapped and ran around, going back and forth between the living room and bedroom.  She did this for nearly half an hour, until my mom went to take a nap.  Lola went with her, curling up on her bed and napping for longer than my mom did.

Last night, wasn’t as bad.  My mom went to bed long before Lola thought she should.  And when I packed up for bed, she ran into my mom’s room and jumped into bed.

So, the age old question has been answered:  Lola is the boss.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  June 22, 2016

    On the one hand Lola sounds pretty sweet in that she actually wants to sleep with the peeps that she loves – of course on the other hand that makes her a little bit of a tyrant……lol…..how does she handle things when you go out of town? Do you have to take her with you? Has she pulled any of the pranks (peeing on shoes and stuff) that Aislinn’s dog has done?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Maria D.

       /  June 22, 2016

      Of course this also makes me think of that song “Whatever Lola wants – Lola gets”…..lol

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    • She doesn’t like it when we go out of town without her, however part of that is because I am always home. We take her to the campground with us and she loves that.

      Her version of revenge is ignoring you.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Dogs are good people. Lola sounds wonderful.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

