Accidentally an Asshat


We all have days.  Mine was yesterday.  I feel I owe a huge apology to the guy working at Casey’s on Rangeline because I was accidentally an asshat.

The light came on in the Highlander indicating I had a lower tire.  A few minutes later, my fuel light came on.  I was on my way to Village Books and Red Weir Sports whatever – they do our plaques for darts.  So, I pulled into the Casey’s on Rangeline.

I filled my gas tank first.  Then I pulled over to get air.  The hose was lying on the ground.  I grabbed it, then realized I did not have a tire pressure gauge in the car.  I’ve never had to check the air pressure, I’ve only had it two months.

So, I went inside and grabbed a tire pressure gauge (there are like seventy of these things at my house, none in the SUV until now), paid for it, and went back out to my car.  All four tires were below 40 pounds of pressure and closer to the 30 pounds mark than the 40.  The manual says they should contain 44 pounds of pressure.

I begin airing up tires and checking the pressure.  Remember, this is the first car I’ve owned in more than 4 years.  Doing things like checking tire pressure hasn’t been done, by me, in a while.

I get three of them over 40 and go to the fourth tire.  The hose won’t reach.  I get in, move my car, get out, begin airing up the tire, and checking it to see if I’m getting close.  I get it over 40.  I coil the hose up, neater than it was when I arrived, and get into my SUV.  As I’m getting ready to back out, I see the Casey’s guy giving me a stupid look.

At first, I’m confused.  Did I run over something or into something?  Did I leave the tire gauge stuck to the tire?  Is one of my tires going flat already?  Then I watched him walk over to the hose, shaking his head, lips moving, and pick up the hose from the ground, coil it neater, and put it on the hook under the air compressor.

Duh!  Mental head slap!

I get cranky when people don’t put their carts in the cart corrals.  And yet, I just made this poor guy walk over, coil the hose I had just used, and put it on the hook that I saw, but didn’t comprehend was the place for the hose, despite the fact that it should have been obvious, in 90+ degree weather.

I was an asshat and I’m sorry.  I should have taken another five seconds to realize the hose belonged on the giant black hook below the air compressor machine and put it there.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  June 18, 2016

    We all have these moments….lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

