Why Everyone Hates Health Insurance Companies


I use United HealthCare for my health insurance needs.  Like the majority of self-employed people in the US, I bought through the Marketplace.  Not a big deal, in and of itself – except for all the ranting and finger pointing people give to people who use Marketplace to get insurance, but once you get past the Marketplace, things sort of fall apart.

In February, my neurologist ordered a sleep study.  I snore like a grizzly bear with a cold, have chronic migraines, and usually need a nap in the afternoons.  I was denied an in-clinic sleep study, but approved for an at home study.  The study did find that I had breathing problems when I sleep.

My neurologist then ordered a full, in-clinic sleep study.  Which United HealthCare once again denied, but approved a CPAP machine.

Last week, I got a call from the home health company telling me that my CPAP was ready to be picked up.  Insurance had approved it.  I just needed to go down, get it pressurized, and pick it up.  And I did, on Monday.  I even paid my copay.

Tuesday, I received a letter telling me that United HealthCare had no evidence that I had a breathing problem at night and therefore, my claim for the CPAP was denied.  It was dated June 3, 2016… 10 days before I picked up the machine and almost a week after I talked to the health equipment provider that said it had been approved.

The letter informed me that they had no record of a sleep study, which was required for a diagnosis.  It also said that there were no notes in my chart that showed I had symptoms of a breathing problem which included; tiredness, snoring, stopping breathing, headaches, etc.

I called, they couldn’t find anything and said they’d call me back.  I’m still waiting…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  June 17, 2016

    United Healthcare is becoming very disorganized with their bookkeeping – you’ll just have to keep calling them…..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

