Returning To Work


I returned to work yesterday.  I sat down and banged out a few chapters.

I find it difficult to work during the day.  There are a ton of interruptions.  My phone rings, text messages come in, laundry needs to be changed over from one machine to the other or folded/hung-up and put away, dishes need to be done, my SO comes home for lunch meaning I fix his lunch (usually when I fix mine so that I don’t have double the lunch breaks), Lola wants attention, and most days, I require a nap – don’t judge, there’s a reason for the naps.  By early afternoon, the headache I woke up with is well on its way to becoming something far worse… This is why I nap most afternoons.  It is meant to prevent migraines.  And heaven forbid, there are usually errands to run.

All of this makes me cranky.  It irritates me that I can’t just sit down and work whenever I want without life getting in the way.  I’ve considered renting a small studio again just to have somewhere to go and work, but it’s hard to justify the expense.

To counter this, I try to work at night.  Even that can be problematic.  If the words are flowing well, I don’t want to stop at 2 am and go to bed.  However, usually by 2 am, Lola is ready for her last trip out and my SO starts wondering if I’m ever going to come to bed – which makes him cranky.

In the evenings, Lola doesn’t really want attention from me.  She wants it from my SO, but he has a thing about me working all evening.  He likes to have dinner and watch baseball together.  I have no problems with either of these, I like to eat and I like baseball, but sometimes I wish I could watch baseball while writing without him getting his panties in a bunch about it.  I never complain when he takes side jobs and works until 7:30 or 8 pm or when he goes to the race shop and stays until 10 or 11 pm.

Life is all about balance, but sometimes I feel that the balance is off because of my life.  I’m not sure how to fix it either.  I’ve looked at several solutions, but they never seem to work out the way I intend.  Let the searching continue!

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Patricia lupien

     /  June 9, 2016

    I don’t judge I get migraines as well and due to other medical conditions mainly neuropathy the medication requires sometimes more than one nap a day. I wish I could write or had your talent. I am a morning person. Everything has to get done by noon or I’m Toast after that. Good luck trying to figure out your schedule.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

