Innocent Dreams/Cannibal Dreams


It turns out that it isn’t cannibalism that bothers me.  It’s child killers.  This is a bit of a blinding revelation.  I didn’t realize I had issues with child killers until now… But as I work my way through Innocent Dreams, I have begun skipping the killer chapters.  Which is exactly what I did in Cannibal Dreams.

I’ve also noticed that while I blog about serial killers and mass murders and the occasional spree killer, I do not seem to blog about the ones that killed children.  I’ve blogged about children killing children.  Teens killing other teens.  But aside from Wayne Williams, I haven’t really blogged any child killers.  Considering serial killers do in fact prey on children, this seems like an oddity.

So, I did a search of my blog for Albert Fish; child killer and cannibal.  Nothing, nada, zip.  I’ve mentioned him in passing, but he’s never actually gotten an entire blog post to himself.  Considering he had as much of an impact as Ted Bundy or John Wayne Gacy, it would seem that I would have covered him, at least once.  I haven’t.

As a matter of fact, since I started seriously writing Innocent Dreams, I’ve noticed an increase in nightmares.  The same thing happened during Cannibal Dreams.  There is just something about them, they trigger some sort of primeval reaction.  It’s not just revulsion or irritation or disgust, it’s something more.  Something I can’t quite name, but gets under my skin.

However, I can’t fix it by introducing Patterson.  So, I will continue along with Innocent Dreams as planned.  I might just have to watch a lot more Too Cute! at night.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

