Travel & Insomnia


The night before I know we have big travel plans, I always get insomnia.  Tomorrow, we leave for 2 1/2 days, which isn’t a big deal, in and of itself.  However, we are pulling the camper to Springfield, Missouri.

We will be staying in it this weekend, parked at a friend’s shop where they are having a dart tournament.  This is much better than the other option, which is a hotel room 20 minutes away.  It’s really hard for me to pop away for an hour or so when the hotel requires a 40 minute drive there and back.

However, there is another reason for us to pull it down this weekend.  On 27 May, we leave for the Chicken Coop Open.  A dart tournament that bills itself as the World’s Largest Outdoor Dart Tournament.  It is in Noel, Missouri and maybe 1 1/2 south of Springfield.  We are actually going to leave the camper at our friend’s shop for the next two week.  We’ll pick it up on the 27th and head down to Noel, Missouri and the Chicken Coop Open.

I have to be up at 6:30 am and it’s currently 2:30 am.  Not a great average for sleep.  I don’t know why I have this problem, just that I do.  I suppose since I’m a night owl to begin with and only average 6 hours of sleep a night anyway… My body just thinks Hey, what’s the point?

As I get older, this problem gets worse.  I always think of the Stephen King story Insomnia.  Good book by the way.  As an older man’s insomnia begins to worsen, it’s discovered there’s a reason behind it.  In a plot that only King himself could describe with any justice, it works out in the end and the lives of two innocents are saved, one of whom will influence the Dark Tower series, and the main character dies a heroic death, having traded his life for another’s.

Nothing quite that dramatic will be happening tomorrow.  I do not expect to run into Greek Gods or have to make a choice between my life and that of a child’s.  Nor do I expect problems from the Crimson King (who has many names throughout the King world).  My biggest piece of drama will come from the possibility of a botched lunch engagement due to the world’s most miserable person ever not leaving Springfield in a timely fashion.

I don’t sleep well in the car, but tomorrow, I may have to make an exception.  3 or so hours of sleep is just not going to work for me.  I might be able to get a short afternoon nap once lunch is finished, but I have a long night of darts on Friday and an even longer day of darts on Saturday.

However, we are setting up a taco bar on Saturday and that always makes things better.  On the down side, I forgot to set up blog posts for the weekend and won’t have internet (barely have cell reception), so all will be quiet on the blog front.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Patricia Lupien

     /  May 13, 2016

    Good luck and have fun

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

