Because Malachi Still Sucks


I’m going to be honest, writing a book about Malachi Blake sucks.  Even writing a novella about him is like pulling out my own teeth.  He and I do not work well together; he’s willful, arrogant, and a pain in the ass.

However, Fortified Dreams gave me a different idea for the Reality side of the D&R books.  But I want the opinion of my readers before I proceed.

Both the SCTU and the VCU have caught a lot of serial killers in this series, far more than I have books for, several of them will be introduced in Fortified Dreams.  And all of those needed me to write backstories for them so that they could be logically included in Fortified Dreams.  I had to know about them.  For this purpose, I wrote several short stories (5,000 words or less), but most of them were begging to be longer (15,000-30,000).

They would be “origin” stories for those that are mentioned but not given their own books.  It would be told entirely from the serial killer’s perspective and would include what they did/liked, how they were caught and by whom.  Like the Dreams novels, the first chapter of each would probably be the graphic kill-style chapter and the rest would be their attempts to flee justice and where they screwed up.  Examples would be like the werewolf that the VCU caught in Indiana and the cannibal that like to invite his neighbors over…

Here’s where you come in:

If I wrote these longer stories and put 2 or 3 in a book, would you be willing to buy them?  If so, at what price?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I would definitely buy them.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Kimberly

     /  May 10, 2016

    Absolutely! Would love to read more stories from the D&R world. I would pay $2.99 for each book.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Sandy Gutierrez- Hall

     /  May 10, 2016

    Yes, and at whatever price. Your books are really a lot of fun to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. kj92765

     /  May 10, 2016

    YES! I think price point should be based on the size of the book, but to be honest, I’d buy it no matter what.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Fae

     /  May 10, 2016

    OMG YES!!! I would definitely buy them. Regardless of price. More Malachai, Ace, Lucas and Gabriel. Definitely. I would also like to know how each agent found themselves in their current employment too as there is still so much to know about their history. Is this something that could be considered for the future novels??? Please. We know Ace’s history but no one else’s. I want to know more about the Wendigo???

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Some will be revealed when Fortified Dreams releases. 😉 Others can be revealed in these short stories, particularly Caleb Green’s. The wendigo will be harder, but I will figure out something to explain it better. I know the story and it’s pretty intense.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Fae

         /  May 13, 2016

        Can’t wait Hadena. I’m now officially on the edge of my seat. Just finished Belladonna Dreams and have just read the opening chapter of Mutilated Dreams. Hoping Fortified is released before I’ve finished. Xx

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Cliff Garretson

     /  May 10, 2016

    Yes I would buy them. The price would depend on the size of the book, but I would still buy them. Happily!!

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m thinking $0.99 for single stories or $2.99 for the collective groups of 2 or 3. Sadly, the $1.99 price tag loses me money, not makes it (which is why so few books are priced at it). However, the collectives will be almost as long as the Dreams novels (3 stories at 20,000 words each would be only about 10,000 words shorter than the goal for every Dreams novel where my goal is 65,000 to 75,000 words – Fortified Dreams is almost 85,000 and officially the longest book in the series, but it needed that many words).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Daryl Levison

     /  May 10, 2016

    I would totally buy any books that had anything to do with the dreams and reality series. I would also pay any asking price for them as they really are my favourite series of books.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Danielle

     /  May 11, 2016

    I would definitely buy these books. And your books are always reasonably priced I’d be happy to pay anything x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Yes…Yes I would…you could call them Tales from the Fortress….as far as pricing…you would need to decide that

    Like

    Reply
    • Actually, I’m considering grouping them by types of serial killers. So one book could be all werewolf style serial killers. And another could be all cannibal serial killers. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,479 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

