More About Reviews & A Little About Bookcovers


I talked about the importance of reviews in Amazon’s algorithm for recommending books.  The more the better is their motto.  However, it also affects the ability to advertise.

For a little over a year, I have been trying to get an advert run for Elysium Dreams on a certain website and every time, it’s been rejected.  I finally got the answer why: Compared to other books in the genre; it doesn’t have enough reviews and the cover looks very similar to another cover that they have advertised in the past.

In other words, to get Elysium Dreams to pass through their advert vetting process, I need a lot more reviews on it and I need to talk to Angela about replacing the cover.

Strangely, I don’t garner a lot of reviews.  Despite selling around 1,000 books a month, I might only get a single new review for 1 book that has sold.  On top of that, I give away around 1,000 books a month and still only get one review of the freebies.  This means, I average 1 review per 1,000 books.  Not a great average.    

As for the cover looking like other books, well, yes it does.  In recent months, I have discovered the cover artist that did Tortured Dreams, Elysium Dreams, and Mercurial Dreams, used the background images multiple times.  For Tortured Dreams, it isn’t as noticeable because there is a giant iron maiden in the foreground.  But on Elysium Dreams where the foreground is a hanging tree and some blood, the background is very noticeable.  One of the other  books has a man walking along a fence with that background.  Another has a man and what might be the exact same tree from Elysium Dreams in the foreground on that background.   Yet another, has nothing but the background.  (I have been told there are others, but they were not done by the original artist that I used) So, it is no longer even remotely close to being original.  While I know Elysium Dreams is a favorite for some people, it isn’t a cover that sells books anymore and obviously, the advert places are noticing that it has been used on several covers; now it must go.  It will be the first of the original 3 that I replace.

So do me a favor and go review Elysium Dreams while I talk to Angela about the cover.  😉

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

