Why It’s Important To Leave Reviews


If you shop Amazon, you understand that they can be pretty annoying about sending emails asking you to review things.  Reviews figure into their algorithms, heavily.  This is even more important for ebooks.  Here’s why:

Until an ebook gets 5 reviews, Amazon does not put it into any of their “recommendation” algorithms.  So, even though you have bought books 1-10 in the D&R books, it won’t recommend 11 until it has 5 reviews.  This is why I try to get people to throw reviews up on the website the day the book releases and the more the better, because…

At 10 reviews, Amazon’s algorithm recognizes people are reading the book.  It still only recommends it to people who have read other books by that author, but it does change it a little.  If someone has bought all my Dysfunctional Chronicles, but none of my D&R books, they now see that I have a new D&R book when it reaches 10 reviews.

However, it isn’t until a book reaches 50 reviews that it starts recommending the book to readers who have never bought a book by that author.

Even more importantly, when multiple books in a single series begin to get 50+ reviews, it jumps the series up for recommendation.  However, almost half the books in that series have to have 50 or more reviews.

Right now, only 2 D&R books have 50+ reviews.  Actually, only 2 of my books total have 50+ reviews.  So, only those two books ever get recommended to readers who have never heard of me.

This is why I and Amazon beg for reviews.  Please remember that when Fortified Dreams comes out.  A review can be as simple as:

I liked this book because the characters kept me entertained. 

Or

This book is really creepy and good.

Thank you!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

