The Strachan Anomaly


There is an anomaly with the Strachan series that I always find a little surprising.  I have sold more copies of Dark Legacies, the fourth book in the series, than I have either Dark Illumination or Dark Resurrections.  It’s like people read Dark Cotillion and then decide to just skip to the end.

The sales are enough to be considered statistically significant.  I have sold 1.25 times as many copies of Dark Legacies as Dark Illumination and 1.33 as Dark Resurrections.  The breakdown:

5,689 copies of Dark Illumination

5,231 copies of Dark Resurrections

6,301 copies of Dark Legacies

For the record, this is my worst selling series.  There have only been around 20,000 downloads of Dark Cotillion.  In contrast, my mid-seller, The Dysfunctional Chronicles, has had 43,000 copies of The Dysfunctional Affair downloaded.  The Dreams & Reality series went over 150,000 for Tortured Dreams this year and with Elysium Dreams free, I’ve seen a huge increase in sales for the others in the series (which might prove that Elysium Dreams is the superior of the two books). Oddly, Cannibal Dreams is the worst selling book in that series.  I’ve had more downloads of Butchered – Belladonna than I have Cannibal (Mutilated Dreams is still too new to have accurate data)…

And now you know that I’m anal enough to keep track of all this.  I also sell better on iBooks than I do Nook.  iBooks actually accounts for nearly 1/4 of all my sales while Nook only accounts for about 1/8 (yes, that does mean I sell twice as many books on iBooks than on Nook and 4 times as more books on Amazon than I do iBooks).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,459 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

