I Was Going To Be Nice, But The Button Broke


Remember the Staples commercials with the Easy Button?  Someone I know definitely needs one of them.  Primarily to remove a coworker from her space every time they invade.  I wrote a post about coworkers earlier this month, here’s a second and the reason why.

Diplomacy is a great thing, especially in an office environment.  If one is good at diplomacy, it allows for smooth working conditions even when the people involved do not necessarily like each other.

However, there is a limit to how much you can give to an annoying coworker who can’t take a hint.  It’s so bad, I’ve even been shown some of the messages they exchange and the coworker in question is annoying even on instant messenger.  I found them annoying and they weren’t even to me.

They tap on my friend’s chair.  They randomly invade her cubicle, even when there’s a sign on the wall saying she’s in a conference call.  If she doesn’t instantly reply to a message, she gets six more asking why she’s not answering.  If she takes a day off, they want to know why they weren’t informed (not her boss and she’s not theirs) and what my friend was doing.  They read her computer screens over her shoulder.  They invade her personal bubble of space.  And they always want to talk about their spouse and why my friend isn’t married, doesn’t drink coffee, doesn’t have kids, doesn’t want to go to lunch every day, etc.  It’s as if the coworker is being intentionally annoying.

So, when and where do you draw that line between being diplomatic and telling one of those people to take a long walk off a cliff – preferably, with a noose around their neck?  No one wants the title of Office Bitch, but a person can only take so much and it’s every day, all day.   How do we tell people they annoy us to the point that we can only think of ways to kill them when they come into our sphere of being?

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Lynda Dickey

     /  April 19, 2016

    I tend to just freak them out a little. I had a coworker who had no concept of personal space and I finally told him that his aura and my aura clashed and it made me really uncomfortable, please take a step back so our auras did not overlap. He left me alone after that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

