A (Stupid) Litigious Society


In September 2015, my youngest nephew was in a car accident.  The other driver was a teenager, driving a brand new truck with a lift kit.  He pulled out in front of my nephew.  The highway patrol wrote a ticket for the other driver and had an ambulance take my nephew, who was driving a sedan, to the hospital.  The accident report clearly stated that the other driver was at fault.

My nephew suffered a concussion and broken ribs.  The car he was driving was totalled and the highway patrol officer that was first on scene was amazed my nephew even survived since his car attempted to go under the truck.

It happened in Fulton, Missouri.  The teen, along with his little brother, had just dropped their mother off at the hospital.  The teen began pulling out into the road and then stopped, which is when my nephew slammed into him and nearly took the top off his car.  He had no time to slow down or even react.  The skid marks were less than ten feet long and it’s a 45 mile an hour zone.

About a week ago, a process server showed up looking for my youngest nephew to serve him papers.  The parents of the other driver is suing him for property damage.  They want full compensation for the damage to the brand new truck.

Huh?!?  It was your kid’s fault, not my nephew’s. And the highway patrol thought he was on his phone, but couldn’t prove it since it was broken in the accident (had it been in his pocket as claimed, the highway patrol says there is no way it would have been broken since neither person in the truck sustained any injuries).  You have got to be kidding me!

It really comes down to a situation of money.  My nephew was driving an older car.  He was 19 and working a McJob (thanks for the term, Kevin Smith!).  The other family is well off.  Very well off from what I have heard (I know people in Fulton).  While they would actually be suing my insurance company more than my nephew, why should I have to pay higher premiums because their idiot teenager can’t drive or because they can’t buy him a sensible vehicle (Research shows most teens have an accident within 6 months of getting their driver’s license, why would you buy a teen a brand new truck and spend thousands of dollars modifying it?!?).

This is one of those situations where I wish my nephew was still under 18, so I could be involved.  I would have a lot to say to the parents, staring with You’re an idiot.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

