A Thirty-Five Year Old Injury X-Rayed


One of the tests I had done recently (yesterday actually) was a full skeletal X-ray.  I know they were looking for signs of leukemia or other bone related cancers, anything that might explain my current problems.  However, it came back clean except for some injuries that had healed but were still visible.

They mentioned I had arthritis in both hands, which I already knew.  Then they mentioned that I had arthritis starting in both hips and it appeared both my hips had been traumatically injured at some point.

Well, they were, almost 36 years ago as a matter of fact (yes, I’m thirty-five).  My mother is a petite woman, short and when she got pregnant with me, very slender.  I was determined to be a large baby, 8.8lbs at delivery (a month early) and 22 inches long.  Now, most people will immediately think that I was not a big baby, but for a woman who is 5’1″ and 110 pounds with no room for a baby like that, I was massive (my sister was only 7.4 pounds and 19 inches long, she was much easier to carry).  Plus, my mother is a birther.  From the time she started labor until my sister was born was just under two hours.  With me, it was just over two hours.

All of this combined lead to me being born with my hips out of socket.  The problem was caught at my first infant check-up (maybe 8 weeks old).  My hips were shoved back into socket and I spent the following two years wearing double and triple layer diapers to give my hips support.

Never in a million years would I have imagined that this would be visible on an X-ray at the age of 35.  However, each hip socket showed grooving, on both the socket and the ball that went in it.  I knew this injury existed because of my shoulder; it has grooving from going in and out of socket so many times.  In this instance, it was the youth of the bone that created the grooving when my hips were shoved back into socket.

The marvels of modern science.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That is really remarkable. And I am happy to hear your other results were uneventful. May they stay that way.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

