An Apology


I’m issuing an apology to all the winners of serial killer Who Am I?  I forgot to mail your prizes.  I’m working on getting them out.

However, I will also say that this was not a case of absent-mindedness.  In February, I learned that my CRP had gone from the usual 1.94 to 3.31.  CRP is a measure of generalized inflammation most commonly associated with autoimmune disorders.

Mine stays slightly elevated due to chronic migraines, in December it was a 1.94, the highest it had ever been, but I also developed a new migraine around that time and so we didn’t think much about it.  So, finding that it jumped in just three months to the much more problematic 3.31 is troubling.

After finding this out, my life became about two things: getting as much written as I could and scheduling tests and performing tests.  It is one of the reasons we went ahead with the Botox treatment for my migraines.  If we can find some sort of control over them, we can focus on other possible issues.  To date, I’ve had a sleep study, an in depth blood screening for everything from liver function to cardiovascular markers to a third CRP test.

We’ve ruled out my thyroid and a few other things; pancreatitis, liver disease, kidney disease, and cardiovascular disease.  But there are still some diseases on the table that can get pretty scary.

For instance, my mother has fibromyalgia as does most of her sisters.  My father has Crohn’s Disease.  My father’s family has a history of pancreatitis (which my sister does have).  And there is some osteoporosis in my mother’s family, however, my bone density is great, so that really isn’t a concern.

Any of these will require an adjustment period for me.  I will need to adjust to medications and treatments.  During that time, I worry that I will not be able to work as much as I would like, which is one of the reasons I have been working so hard to get so much written now.

Unfortunately, the symptoms do catch up with me regularly.  I have discovered that in the last 3 months, I no longer have the stamina to play darts for an entire evening; something I could easily do in November, but couldn’t in January.  I’m constantly tired and not just tired, but exhausted.  I thought at first, I was working too hard, so I took a week off and found I was just as tired not working as working.  I’ve lost 32 pounds without an explanation and have not had a decrease in appetite or a change in my diet.

So, my week is dedicated to getting the swag out and hoping that the test results I should be getting this week are not worse case scenario and actually answers some questions instead of raising more.  I’m also hoping to get a little help from a volunteer personal assistant.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Kay Feltes

     /  April 5, 2016

    Oh my gosh. I can’t believe what you must be going through. And you continue to write and worry about your fans. I hope that life, physically, gets better for you soon. I enjoy all of your books and have recommended them to all my friends.

    Like

    Reply
    • I feel it is unfair to deny my readers their rewards just because I’m not having a great month… rewards are books and swag items. You guys deserve to get more stories and I have a lot more to tell. Sometimes, it is the only thing that keeps me from crawling back under the covers and being done with the day at 8:30 a.m. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. TV

     /  April 5, 2016

    I hear you, In the worst of my MS flare ups I asked for a C- Reactive protien too.. They ran it 3 times to confirm it was 32.6… No one belives it until I show the lab copies.. There are TWO CRP test one is CARDIAC and one in INFLAMATION.. ask your Doc which do they order, that’s when you really wet your panties. Just an FYI.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • They did both. My cardiac was fine, surprising since my father’s family has a history of heart disease (my own father had a massive heart attack at 48). The only thing not in the good to excellent range was the inflammation. And I believe yours could be a 32.6, I have a friend with an autoimmune disorder that was really really happy to find her levels had dropped to a 9.89 the other day. She says she feels better than she has in months.

      I was originally very worried about my thyroid. My cousin kept having borderline results until she quit smoking and then it was found that she had hypothyroidism. However, my thyroid results were nearly perfect, not even close to being borderline on either side. Having now ruled out endocrine problems, I’m off to see the rheumatologist and start the autoimmune tests.

      I think the waiting for the test results is worse than actually getting bad news when they come in. Because there are times when I just can’t stop my brain from thinking about what it could be… and as we rule things out, that cycle only gets worse.

      Like

      Reply
  3. I just recently re-started botox treatments as an add on to my occipital stimulator. I am so happy I did. Botox is working and a beautiful accessory to the stimulator. Added bonus, I have the back of my head of a 6 year old. Marvelous.
    I do hope you feel better.
    Now, to cope with paying for the botox. Ugh.

    Like

    Reply
  4. My forehead will not wrinkle, which is sort of an unexpected bonus. My scalp was really sore for about two days afterwards, but they said that wasn’t uncommon. Hoping the next one is a little less painful.

    Why people do this for fun is beyond me…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

