Scarier Than Any Book or Movie


To say I have commitment phobia is an understatement.  I have trouble committing to what I’m fixing for dinner or whether I intend to leave my house during the day or not.  Sometimes, making and keeping plans is a huge thing for me and not one that I excel at for several reasons.

A week ago, my SO dragged me out car shopping.  We both agreed that we needed a reliable vehicle to take trips in and for me to use as a daily driver.  But we were just looking and it was just talk. We did find one that struck our fancy, but it wasn’t going to happen.

However, this morning we had an appointment to test drive it.  We did.  It drove great, but it wasn’t like we were going to get the loan.  I have student loan debt and a bank recently screwed him over on a loan that he paid off.

We ran his credit anyway.  They come back and ask me to fill out an application, which I did, knowing they were going to look at my credit score combined with my self employment and monthly average income and start laughing.  They might even frame it to point out to other people. (I will say I had not looked at my credit score in more than a decade and I have never had a loan, which actually lowered my credit score or so I was told by the financing guy at the dealership)

To my shock, we were approved!  Now comes the really terrifying part… I have to sign legally binding paperwork with my SO to say that we will pay this loan off because we just bought a car together.  The salesman thinks I’m pissed off because he got my last name wrong, we act like husband and wife, he just assumed we were married.  I tried to explain to him that I’m used to it, it wasn’t a problem, just a few forms to change.  But how do you explain that you are on the verge of a panic attack because you are in fact buying a car with the guy you have lived with for five years?

Four hours, several text messages with my best friend, some negotiating, and our signatures on at least a million documents later, we co-own a Toyota Highlander.  I have not owned a car in 4 years.  I have not co-owned a car with anyone other than my parents, ever.  This is the single most terrifying thing I have ever done, but I did it.  I also came home really stressed out with a terrible headache and a slight touch of nausea.

Maybe this shows personal growth on my part…  I also came home and wrote a serial killer chapter, possible to relieve my stress because it wasn’t the chapter I planned to write.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. kim Myers

     /  April 3, 2016

    I think that falls under Personal growth. Good for you

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Definitely personal growth! And lol about writing a serial killer chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,458 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

