42! I mean, Adria Waters…


I have mentioned before that I try to help with aspiring novelists in my home town.  They meet every month, I attend when I can, which has become less frequently lately, but I’m working on getting back at it.  Anyway, the point of the group is to help critique works and encourage each other to follow that giant P-word. I don’t make enough meetings, I don’t feel like I contribute much to them and when I do, I sound like an evil harbinger of doom and gloom that unmotivates writers.

However, in recent months, it has worked.  Three novelists have gone ahead and published their first (and in one case, second novel).  I couldn’t be more thrilled about it.  I love indies and I truly believe they are providing a huge service to readers, such as myself, who have trouble finding new authors because the big publishing houses have a formula and aren’t willing to take a lot of risks (I get this, it costs them money).

Last night, I had dinner with Adria Waters (please ignore my terrible selfie skills), author of Edge of Lucidity.  Adria is a wonderful person; always happy, always looking on the bright side, organized, delightful, smiley, and bubbly…essentially, the exact opposite of me.  So, when I first read Edge of Lucidity, I was surprised to find the writer in her had a dark, twisted side that I could completely relate to.

It was recently released on Amazon and I bought both the ebook and the paperback so I could re-read the completed novel.  It didn’t disappoint the second time around.

Our dinner was mostly to celebrate her moving from aspiring to published author.  But let’s be honest, we didn’t just talk about the book.  We talked about our lives, told stories on ourselves (mostly me), and had a good time.  It was good for me to get out and connect with someone else who writes and understands my insanity for doing such a thing.  She also cheered me up a little, since I’ve been going through a blue streak for a little while now.  But then, it’s hard to be blue when you have such an enthusiastic optimist sitting across from you chowing down on Mexican food and smiling just because they are high on life (we need more of these people in the world).

For the next two months or so, Kindle Unlimited users can read her book for free.  If you want to buy it, it’s well worth the price (which I don’t remember because I didn’t actually look at it).  It is labelled New Adult Fiction, but it would appeal to a much wider audience – I would classify it as supernatural suspense about college aged kids messing with things they maybe shouldn’t.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,459 other followers

  • Visit me on Facebook!

  • Authorgraph!

    Get a free Authorgraph from Hadena James
  • Hadena James’ Blog Collection

  • Top Posts & Pages

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

