K. Smith Proofs


Since, I talked about Covered Creatively earlier this week, I decided to do a small piece on each contractor I use.  Today, it’s my proofreader: K. Smith Proofs.

I use an editor for some things and a proofreader for others.  Krissy Smith does my proofreading.  Last year, she went through all 5 of The Dysfunctional Chronicles.  In February, I put her through the real test and she proofed Elysium Dreams without feeling queasy (it makes most people feel queasy).

She is very good at what she does; which is essentially the turbo version of Spell & Grammar check.  No matter how many errors are caught by the editor or the beta readers, a proofer is still a great idea.  For starters, they will catch even more and they know about things like comma rules, italicization, and if using the word “ain’t” is ever really a good idea.

I found her quite by accident.  She was trying to “break into the literary proofing world” and I’m a terrible skeptic of such people because I have been burned before.  She was offering a special, I decided to let her have a go at The Dysfunctional Affair and it was good!  Really good!  She found errors that I had to read twice to figure out what I had done wrong.  It was really easy to decide to let her proof the rest of that series.  They are all short, not gory, a little cutesy, and while I love them, they are not the D&R series, which is what really pays my bills.

After working on all 5, she had also become a fan of the series (I’m currently working very hard to get another one to her by the middle of April, by the way).  And a friend.  So, we discussed some of the history I have had with editors and proofers in the past.  Many moons and messages later, I agreed to let her sink her proofing teeth into Elysium Dreams.

The problem with Elysium Dreams is not that it hasn’t been edited or proofed, it’s actually had too many hands and eyes and red slashes go through it.  Not counting myself or my occasional content editor, Eliza, it has actually been gone through with a red pen seven times by seven different people.  I felt it was beyond hopeless to get everything fixed.  Names had been changed, concepts had been changed, needless to say, the book was a bit of a mess.  Letting yet another person go through it, filled me with horror.

However, I agreed and I am so glad that I did.  She did an amazing job.  She even managed to fix the shit the other editors and things broke.  I have every intention of having her go through all my books eventually.  I have to get the new stuff done too though and at that point, money starts becoming an issue (she isn’t expensive, but I have 20 books published – 14 of them could use her lovin’ and I have more books on the way, so it’s volume that causes the cash flow problem, not her prices).

My favorite part though was reading through her comments and mixed in with proofreading marks were things like I loved this line! and This made me giggle out loud.

If you are in the market for a proofreader, I highly recommend K. Smith Proofs.  I managed to get a proofreader who was good at her job and a friend (who agrees with me that purple hair rocks!).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

