The Blog Post I Want v. The Blog Post I’m Going to Write


I would love to have a witty, upbeat, well crafted blog post for today, and I almost did.  Last night or very early this morning, depending on your adherence to obscure time references, I had a great idea for today’s post.  Of course, at 4:00 am, I wasn’t about to log onto the computer and write it.  So I wrote down the title and nothing else.  Which currently, isn’t very helpful because I can’t remember what was so great about it.

I admit the pain meds probably aren’t helpful there.  I had an incident yesterday that is turning out to be the most painful thing I have ever experienced.  It has also made me incredibly aware of some of the human body’s design flaws.  There are just some parts that are connected and absolutely should not be.  For example, emptying my bladder should not impact my lady bits, and it does.  Worse, standing and walking both impact the lady bits as well… WTF?!?

The lost article was entitled “Indie Publishing Requires More Than You Think.”  I had some bit about bravery in there, because essentially you start out as a failure and have to live with that until you can say you aren’t.  At least, that’s the myth.  I’m an indie because I want to be.  Lots of indies are indies because they can’t find a traditional publisher, which does make you feel like a failure.  However, traditional publishers can only take on so many new books and new authors a year, meaning some very great books never get published, because the traditionals aren’t willing to take that risk.

I’m sure I was going to talk about realistic sales numbers.  And the options afforded to indies that are not available to traditionals, like publishing as often as you like, whether that be every month or every six months or every two years (I really hate the last one though – waiting two years to get your next book fix from a particular author is a form of torture that I believe should have been in Dante’s Inferno).

I’m also positive that I was going to mention royalties and cheaper ebooks.  Not to mention marketing, something most traditionals have to do on their own as well.  I know one of my recent contract offers had a clause in it about how much of my royalties they would be taking per year to pay for marketing.

However, it’s gone.  Tomorrow’s post will be about things to look for if you do get offered a contract.  I’ve seen several and haven’t liked any of them, they have clauses and stipulations that just don’t jive with how I write.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

