The Weekend


I spent the weekend at a dart tournament, where I did pretty good in Mixed Trips thanks to my partners, but pretty much sucked at everything else. My darts just weren’t there.  Kind of an odd thing to say, but it’s true.

Sometimes, no matter how much you love to do something, you fail at it.  Miserably.  Despite being decent at it most of the time.  While I’m applying it to darts now, it really does apply to everything.

There are days when no matter how much I want to write, it just doesn’t happen.  The words don’t come, there is no flow of ideas, and the story never takes form.  Then there are days when I can’t seem to stop it, no matter what I do.

Both of these are natural.  As a dart player, sometimes, you just have put it down for a moment (or a day) and step back, get a different perspective and rethink your approach.  I know my problem this weekend was technique.  My darts were off because I couldn’t remember my stance.  This should be second nature to me, but occasionally, it gets screwy and I don’t remember where I put my foot or how I hold my arm from the elbow up or where I position myself in relation to the bullseye.

The same is true of writing.  If I’m exceptionally grumpy, how am I supposed to write something light hearted and funny?  How can I skin people alive, when I really want to bask in the glory of the sun (slathered down with sunscreen) and enjoy life?  Now, inspiration can hit at any time and great things can be born from that.  And writing requires technique that we occasionally seem to misplace, just as I occasionally forget how to throw a dart.

The key is to not give up.  Yes, I had a bad weekend, but it isn’t the end of the world.  I’m not quitting darts.  I’ll find it again in a day or two.  Just as I will find my flash of inspiration for the next Dysfunctional Chronicle, the next D&R book, and the next starter for a series.  I can work on it, practice, work on it some more, but I can’t really force it.  I can only hone the technique and make it work better for me.

Off to write.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

