More Random Things I Think About


I was going to post something about International Women’s Day, but I couldn’t think of anything to say about it.  So, have some more randomness instead.

  • Why do we think black and white animals are so adorable (Penguins, pandas, zebras, orcas, white tigers, etc… even skunks are cute – Pepe Le Pew comes to mind)? And is there any correlation to their appeal and our constant bombardment of loud colors (neon signs, clothing, TV commercials, etc)?  Why hasn’t a scientist studied this?!?
  • What the hell is the universe expanding into?!?  I’ve read the available literature and I get it, but I can’t figure out what it is expanding into… There has to be something beyond the borders of our universe if our universe is getting bigger.  And is it going to be a problem (is our universe going to collide with another universe and some poor unsuspecting race of beings are going to get the surprise of their life when one of our universe’s stars or planets slams into them – we’ve always been taught that nature abhors a vacuum, which makes me believe that our universe is probably not expanding into a vacuum…)?
  • Why is Lola the Impossible afraid of baths, but gets pissy when I make her come in because it’s raining?
  • How can cough medicine make you feel cold?
  • Why do double mono-syllabic names not sell books?  (Like Dawn Cook couldn’t sell books, but once she changed the name on the cover to Kim Harrison, she became a bestseller… I know it wasn’t overnight, but it did change her sales dramatically…)
  • Why can we watch some shows and movies over and over and over and over and over again?  What triggers that desire in our brain?
  • Why do I still get nervous when I publish a book?  I’ve done it twenty times.  I’ve gotten good reviews and bad reviews.  I’ve seen the best and worst of the publishing world.  So, why do I still have jitters?
  • If my fingers could type as fast as my brain writes, I wonder how long it would actually take me to write a book?
  • Where exactly did my accent come from?  It isn’t midwestern.  And I’ve had people ask me if I was from Boston and LA, so no one else can figure it out either.  Since I can’t hear it, I have no idea what it is (to me, I do not have an accent).
  • My brain naturally skips words when I’m talking (meaning they also do not come out of my mouth).  Is this some sort of speech impediment?
  • What do dogs think about?  Sometimes Lola looks sad and I can’t decide if she is or if she’s just tired (she doesn’t want to play during that time, so it isn’t boredom).
  • Why do damaged or arthritic joints ache before a storm?

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Kim

     /  March 9, 2016

    Why did I sit and read all of that?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

