Thank You Antibiotics


Sometimes, we take for granted that common illnesses used to kill people.  As I recover from pneumonia, I can’t help but be thankful that I was able to get giant pink pills (amoxicillin) and that today, I’m fever free and no longer feel like I’m drowning when I breathe.  Pneumonia was one of the more common disease that could and would kill you before antibiotics.

Pneumonia is an odd bacterial infection.  Once you’ve had it, your chances of getting it again increase exponentially.  My original bout came 12 years ago, while in college.  No doubt passed onto me by some infected student who was too sick to be in class, but too determined to not be there.

I have had it almost every year since. In the US, the sick get treated weirdly.  We don’t want their cooties and complain when they come to work or class, but to not come to work or go to class earns them big red Xs for poor attendance.  Which is part of the reason, I’m glad I have a job that allows me to stay at home.  I’m not exposed to anything I don’t want to be exposed to and no one is keeping track of my sick days (except my SO, who is one of those types that might get sick once every two years and therefore, doesn’t understand why others get sick… I think the man could like a petri dish filled with salmonella and only get heart burn).

I am on the mend.  Five doses of antibiotics and I’m feeling much better.  No fever, which is amazing, but still have the wet, awful cough that makes me feel like someone has beaten me on the inside, but even that has dwindled significantly.  The biggest problem is fatigue.

The Lovely Lola is used to my late night work schedule and with me not on it, she hasn’t been sure what to do with herself at night.  Plus, I haven’t played with her much, so her energy level has been high.  Then there are the assholes across the street.  They have guests at all hours of the day and night (do they ever sleep?!?!).  They leave their dogs out in the front yard, roaming free, and when the dogs want to come in, they have to bark at the door… last night the barking lasted for about 30 minutes.  During which time Lola, who is terribly social, kept whining to go outside, but I refuse to put her on her chain at 1 a.m. to play.  Friday night, they were moving shit out of their house at 2 in the morning, like beds and things.  So, sleeping like I need has been a challenge.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Has the doctor given you the pneumonia vaccine? I had it once and since then my doctor has given me the vaccine and renewsee it when needed. Your neighbors are a royal pain…shame they don’t live near Aislinn. ..lol. Poor Lola…she just wants to have fun. ….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

