I Might Be Dead


I admit it, Fortified Dreams kicked my ass.  Not because it didn’t flow, it did, really well.  Not because it was difficult, it wasn’t, everything just kept falling into place.  Not even because it is the longest book I’ve ever written, Dark Cotillion is 40,000 words longer than Fortified Dreams.

However, it is the most complicated book I have ever written.  I knew when I finished Mutilated Dreams that the one immediately after it was going to be difficult.  It had quite the cliffhanger and that cliffhanger promised that something big was coming.  It did, in the form of Fortified Dreams.

First, there was a ton of groundwork to be done.  Not every serial killer in the Fortress had been discussed in the series.  As a matter of fact, very few had.  They all needed stories.  Then there were other characters that needed backstories and were important to the plot.

It was hard to balance the action and the downtime.  The prose and dialogue were another factor.  The story held some surprises for me as well.

Now that it is finished, I have decided to shut my brain off for a day or two.  Unfortunately, I’ve finished all three seasons of Miss Fisher’s  Murder Mysteries on Netflix, so I have to find something else to watch while my brain recovers.

Whilst I recover, enjoy Mutilated Dreams and don’t forget to review it!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. You need to rest, watch some tv or movies and just hang out with your S.O. and Lola….lol….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

